Old Wives’ Tales

July 3, 2011 § Leave a comment

I love the folklore of women which passes down the generations.  Grandmothers, mothers, aunts, and so forth.  Some might say their wisdom is old-fashioned but I beg to differ.  It is more often than not spot on.

My merry aunt of seventy-one is married for the second time but had many wilderness years before she met husband Number Two.

She said to me a couple of Christmases ago, “If a good one comes on the market, Darling, you have about a fortnight to snap him up before somebody else does.”

Last Christmas I reminded her that she had said this.

“Did I?” she said.  “Well, I was wrong.  Make that a week.”

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Old Wives’ Tales at The Plankton.

meta

