The Wisdom of My Aunt

July 31, 2011 § 17 Comments

My trusty aunt (cf. Old Wives’ Tales) rang me last night.  We haven’t spoken for a while so she was asking how I was.

“Have you got a rich boyfriend, Darling?”

“No,” I said, “no boyfriend, rich or otherwise.”

“How old are you?”

“Forty-seven.”

“You’ve got three years then,” she said straight out.

“How do you mean?” I asked.

“Well, then you’re in trouble.”

§ 17 Responses to The Wisdom of My Aunt

  • ecmg says:

    Nooooooo – just starting lying about your age! 😉

  • AnonW says:

    Your aunt is wrong. I’m 63 and in some ways I’m very happy. The only time when life is over is when they nail the lid down.

  • DAN says:

    WELL IF YOUR AUNT IS RIGHT, WELL THAT THEN MEANS THAT I AM ALREADY FUCKED!
    JUST TURNED 50 3 MONTHS AGO

  • Buster says:

    Each of us experience a different reality. Your aunt may not have aged as well as you, or be as attractive or appealing, but is judging your reality on her own. A lot is defined by our attitude too. Change your perception of the oposite sex & everything can change very quickly. It’s not too easy though.

  • Buster says:

    I know it’s partly meant in jest, but I must just say that dealing with rejection by having some sort of revenge may seem sweet but it is this sort of reaction that keeps barriers up to potential partners. People need to be able to accept, understand & forgive the decisions or even the immaturity of others who reject them & focus their attention on meeting suitable people instead. I see so much of this sort of reaction, especially in the young & immature of all ages.
    Don’t focus on the negative people but forgive & show warmth & love.

  • Buster says:

    What happened to the message left after my second one by stormwind??
    It looks like I’m talking to me self now!! Nothing unusual there then!
    I suppose now it will reappear and make me sound even more confused than I already am.

    Oh no it won’t!

    Who said that?

  • Susan says:

    I think finding someone at any age is possible as long as you concentrate on and accentuate your assets – so to speak. Men are visual creatures and so if you want to have a chance against the young ones, you must keep yourself looking good. There are many collectors in the world, and like a good antique, many things are better with age. I’ll be 47 this year, and after a divorce 3 years ago, never thought I’d be on the partnership scrap heap – I had a positive attitude and played the numbers game sensibly of course because I’m wiser now. And about 20mths ago I meet a younger man – he’ll be 44 this year and we have been in a committed relationship for the past 18mths. So it does happen, and can happen to anyone at any time, as long as you have the right attitude and skill set.

  • Miss J says:

    There are at least 2 comments missing Sarah, and quite frankly I can’t be arsed repeating myself!

    • Sarah Hague says:

      @MissJ: That would explain Buster’s comments. Wonder what happened to them. Perhaps they found love and have buggered off into the sunset, or on a weekend break.

  • Bambi says:

    I’m fifty-and-a-half and have been asked out since my birthday….. Is this a record???!!!! Nil desperandum, say I!

  • toyman says:

    W A R N I N G !

    This Aunt has the right to voice her opinion!

    But It does not make her right…………………………………

    Nobody should ever consider themselves fucked……………

    Lets not forget, we are just having a chat here………..

  • RORY FROM DUBLIN says:

    I think it is important to keep a perspective. As a 50 year old man I fancy woman of my own age and indeed older. I look at women in their 30s and have no interest in them. I think these days we are all so neurotic we don’t give each other a chance.

  • june says:

    i just dont fancy men of my age, i am sorry but i feel like im out with ,my dad. but sadly on dating websites younger men rarely want older women,men in their 50s want women in 40s and possibly younger.

    perhaps its because i have mostly younger friends but men of my age;seem to have one foot in grave, i hate to be cruel but they do.

    so what do you do, your aunty is probably right but id say 55, thats most mens cut off date, so youve got 8 years, its my experience, ive been told point blank you are too old for me!. what puzzles me my female friends in 40s and 50s have no problem with my age,why do men.!

  • DAN says:

    Sorry but you need to make new freinds!

    DAN.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Wisdom of My Aunt at The Plankton.

meta

