Plankton Holiday

August 4, 2011 § 6 Comments

Every year I go on holiday to the same place with my family.  I often wonder if it is a bit of a sign of failure that as a middle-aged woman I am still not independent as far as holidays are concerned, and indeed whether that is the lot of the plankton?

Not that I am complaining.  I am close to my parents and love being with the extended family, coming back to familiar territory year after year.  Pleasure for its own sake.

And who knows?  I may be walking on the beach one day and something – someone? – may happen when I am Least Expecting It (cf. earlier post about Least Expecting It).

But I kind of doubt it.

As I say, pleasure for it’s own sake, even though its raining.

§ 6 Responses to Plankton Holiday

  • singlemommyhood says:

    Stopping by to say hello. Much of what I read in the Daily Mail reflected what I hear from fantastic post 45+ single moms looking for love. Wishing you well. And looking forward to reading more.

  • asjbendall. says:

    Greengages picked yesterday before the rain, jam already made, will create a stewed greengage crumble for tonight. Your Plankton today is a real gem of honesty, how many of us would like the chance to holiday with family, your Mum and Dad are so lucky , enjoy every moment you can with them, because life is a one way road! If your Dads a countryman any ideas why the Chickens are still not laying? Do you still have your own original bedroom, when my parents were alive, they kept my room so when I was home on leave, my bed was the Best place in the world, totally safe and secure, cup of tea in the morning, no unwelcome greetings except the cat and dog.” Home the place where you argue the most, But are loved the most”.

  • catherine says:

    This feels like a painfully real blog and I’m glad I’ve found it.

    After a quickly-downturning inappropriate romance last year with a local who wanted a foreign writer girlfriend to show off to friends, this divorcée is holidaying with her youngest kid and a bunch of the most comfortable friends one could find. Sloppy dressers, good cooks, big readers.

    Nah, despite a girlfriend’s conviction that I will ‘get my rocks off’ in a Corsican tent, I’m not convinced, not even hoping. This time I am honestly going for the local wine and rocky vistas.

  • Sarah Hague says:

    Ha! Been there done that for the last, um many years. It is a) a pleasure, b) convenient, c) cheap, d) lazy but it does get a bit wearing. This year financial constraints obliged me to do differently and I took my kids camping (in a fully-equipped chalet) 2hrs up the road. Actually it was lovely and different.

    Not that I was looking but there were other single parents (dads) with their kids. The bravest were in tents. Just saying…

  • Helen says:

    I’m single for 24 years and have dated quite a bit, but I really enjoy my freedom and my space. I feel if the Lords wants that for me, He will have to put him in my face… Celebrate life and know that some man is missing out on a wonderful partner by overlooking us women 45 .. it’s their LOSS!
    I had rather be alone than be lonely on a relationship like I had when I was married. Thank you Lord!!!

  • Lynn from England says:

    Hi there!
    I am going on holiday with my parents next week and I am 48! We are blessed to still have our parents aren’t we? I didn’t get married until I was 45 – don’t have any children due to being a late starter – but what I wanted to say to you is this: There is nothing more lonely than being in a bad relationship – you look around you and maybe you envy people who you think are in a happy relationship – can I be honest? The only happy couple I know personally, apart from me and husband, are my parents. Everyone else I know is unhappy in their relationships when you dig a bit – but they stay because they are afraid to be alone! Be happy with yourself – you have your lovely children. When you stop thinking about a relationship – it will come along and appear in your lap. My advice is to stop looking – it worked for me xxxx

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Plankton Holiday at The Plankton.

meta

