Hope For Planktons Everywhere?

August 8, 2011 § 10 Comments

There is hope for planktons everywhere if the news I read in the paper yesterday is anything to go by.

Vi Stannard is to marry Derek Walker next month in Suffolk.  She is 94 and he is 84.  Although she separated from her first husband forty years ago, she did not believe in divorce.  Mr Walker proposed to her 12 years ago but she has only just become free to marry him following the death of her husband, aged 97.

Part of me thinks: Mrs Stannard was never divorced so never a proper plankton so perhaps her story isn’t really relevant to planktons and doesn’t really count.

Another part of me thinks: this is just downright good news, and good news for planktons everywhere.  Perhaps we should never give up hope.

§ 10 Responses to Hope For Planktons Everywhere?

  • Chris says:

    Good grief, Vi’s a cougar !!! Good on ‘er !!

  • AnonW says:

    My ex-business party lost his wife to cancer about five years ago. He’s now happily married again at 75 to a lady of about his own age.

    Things do sort themselves out!

  • Sarah says:

    I really hope you don’t have to wait 50 odd years to find a suitable partner!

  • RORY FROM DUBLIN says:

    The chances are you will meet Mr. Plankton when you stop looking. He might be the plumber who comes to fix the leaking tap or the chap you bumps into you with his shopping trolley-check the contents to see what he is buying-ready meals are a dead give away that he is single. It never ceases to amaze me that us guys and you gals are all looking for the same thing but we waste so much time thinking we will never be acceptable or that it’s impossible to meet someone. We are all neurotic basket cases at this stage of our lives-at least that is something we have in common.

  • Emma says:

    Thank God! An upturn! I’ve been following this since it started and to be honest I was starting to flinch every morning at the prospect of reading the latest post. I think everything written has been bang on and I believe all of it – confirmed by the resounding thud in the pit of my stomach, but all so so grim….. I needed a breather!

    Of course I am a fellow plankton. I have the brace of kids and the ex-partner (we never married). Does that make me true ‘plankton’? Yes it does – just even less desirable by not having been married and therefore not being given the stamp of ‘approval’ by someone. Also – and I’m really surprised this hasn’t come up yet, totally financially fucked. Ex-partner can’t contribute. A very appealing prospect for the new prospect. Not.

  • MissBates says:

    Hi Rory:

    I’m afraid your “When You Stop Looking” hypothesis is a corollary of the “When You’re Least Expecting It” theory already expounded upon by Plankton a week or two ago. I Stopped Looking years ago and have been Least Expecting It forever, and yet still . . .

    . . . a plankton.

    I will, however, keep my eyes peeled for the contents of grocery trolleys the next time I’m in a supermarket. Which isn’t that often, given that I live in New York, work 70 hours a week and tend to order in when I get home in the evening. (Oh wait . . . might THAT have something to do with my plankton status? LOLOL!)

    • Sarah says:

      A friend of mine (male) has met women in traffic jams, in the supermarket carpark, and at a racing car circuit. In each case, he was not expecting it, but it’s true you do have to circulate a minimum to be in a position to take advantage of the Least Expecting Opportunity.

  • Well, you know what people keep saying these days- 90 is now the new 80…

  • asjbendall. says:

    West Crodon, Lewisham, Peckam, Hackney, East Ham, also told Birmingham , sorry Nina unable to contact you ,Plankton be very careful please in London , Everything is so dangerous we are doing are very best , trust my chickens are okay at home.

    • asjbendall. says:

      Clapham, Lewisham, Croydon, Londons burning, and being looted it is awful Bambi you also sound to be a lovely person Times like this I wish I had someone to share my moments of , with.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hope For Planktons Everywhere? at The Plankton.

meta

