August Bank Holiday then Autumn Beckons

August 24, 2011 § 9 Comments

I spoke to a friend last night and we agreed we were looking forward to the autumn; new academic year; new beginnings.  I am looking forward to seeing my children happy in their new classes; to getting down to some hard work after the summer lull (them and me); and to all the possibilities that a long and dark autumn brings, hey ho.  A (divorced) old boyfriend contacted me out of the blue a couple of days ago; the Smidgen is returning to our neighbourhood from his long summer sojourn abroad and we will meet; one of my best male friends who is on a mission on my behalf has pledged to introduce me to Long Shot; I am seeing the Kidnap Negotiator in a couple of days.  My friend I spoke to last night said that all the significant relationships she had had in her life had begun in the autumn.  So who knows?  Perhaps now is the time to be upbeat.  If only for a week or two!

I am going away for the Bank Holiday weekend for a huge and historic family gathering in a place where my access to the internet will be pretty well non-existent.  So it is I have to say I won’t be able to post any blogs till Tuesday when I get home, thus breaking my unbroken daily record (since 2 July) so far, for which apologies.

But I promise to return with stories and observations and rants anew, and please do keep the comments coming meanwhile.

Have a good weekend.

§ 9 Responses to August Bank Holiday then Autumn Beckons

  • Jackie Allen says:

    I love your blog! I met my partner in September so yes your feind may be right! Good luck!

  • Sarah says:

    That’s quite a line-up. Four men! You’re positively spoilt for choice.

  • joules says:

    Good luck and have a great weekend.

  • susan says:

    Let us hope that as autumn turns it’s leaves over, we will find a new color in our personal lives. Good luck! Maybe your leaves are turning brighter too.

  • Lydia says:

    So from there being not a single possible man in a few weeks there are four. They were always out there. Just don’t push it, relax, be fun for them, don’t be proposing on the first date kind of thing.

  • june says:

    As sarah says 4 men you are spoilt for choice plankton.

    To me autumn means winter as i seem to suffer from SAD and hate winter, not good, but this year i am determined to be positve.

    i have been chatting to chap on website, usually i sit and think of things to say but this time its surpisingly easy, hes younger than me, good sign, lives in city also good,and we have discovered our families both orginate from same village, and in fact his great aunt was married,but they split up, to my mums cousin.a small world,early days but who knows.

    Also have already several invites for sept,girly night for friends birthday, then birthday meal with her partner, his kids, other friends with kids etc, guess good i as sad singleton gets invited, so maybe im not so sad. Just had email from old school friend who is coming to see me bank hol monday we are going for meal and to see One Day, hope i can stand 2 hrs of anne hathaways yorkshire accent!.

    So possibly plankton your optomism is spreading, lets hope it lasts for us all.

  • Catherine says:

    You’re right, thinking back, I have had some explosive Septembers, warming winters, then by summer I wanted my freedom back. Who is the kidnap negotiator? I am seeing the ex-kidnapper this week (clutching child) and have nought else on my platter.
    Corsica was spent watching idiots play that stupid racket game on the waterline and drinking heavy chestnut-derived beer… the only local sport rough-neck and snarling…

  • fantasyescapist says:

    Good luck and can’t wait for your next post!

  • Anya. says:

    The odds are narrowing. You’re looking good. The friend sounds best – but he would to me, presently on that road..

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading August Bank Holiday then Autumn Beckons at The Plankton.

meta

