Thought for the Day: Not Thinking About Men. As If.

October 14, 2011 § 10 Comments

I  decided that I was going to make a break for stupendous novelty and not think about men today, or even lack of them, but maybe, like starting a diet, that particular departure shall have to wait until tomorrow.

Because, I have to share this, yesterday one of my best male friends who is on an emotionally-generous and touching mission to make me the next Mrs Long Shot, rang me with an update.  He is going to invite us both to stay at the same time for several days during the Christmas holidays, although he is not going to tell LS that I am coming until he has secured LS’s acceptance.  I am beside myself with excitement which is effing stupid of me because LS may well be unable to come.  (Frantically saying my prayers, if any of you would care to join me…?  Much appreciated).  In which case he would be a fool – not because he would be missing out on me, though there is that of course (my uncharacteristic confidence today must be something to do with the sun shining) – but because my bf and his wife are the most wonderful hosts in all Europe and live in a house which is breath-taking and restful to the extreme.

Today, I have a bounce in my step.  Tomorrow I shall not give men a second thought.

Unless, that is, BF rings to say LS has replied to his invitation.  In which case the diet starts on Sunday.

§ 10 Responses to Thought for the Day: Not Thinking About Men. As If.

  • *lights candle, kneels & prays* Hope the response is positive!

  • Erin says:

    Well, this is indeed an exciting development and I do hope he can make it, I truly do : ) But the former (and with the benefit of hindsight) plankton in me is urging you not to put all your eggs in one basket. Remember the story I told you about the Artist? Please dear P, don’t discount others while you are waiting for this meeting. Remember the post you wrote about men playing the field? Well, you can too until you form a real romantic relationship with one of them. I urge you to please consider each one as a contender and act accordingly when with them because if things don’t work out with LS (and I’m not saying they won’t, but you must for your heart’s sake, err on the side of caution) you will be kicking yourself for blowing your chance with others.

    I know the above is hard advice to implement when you are so excited about the prospect of meeting LS, but been there/done that and don’t want to see it happen to you. Think of a pie chart. LS might represent a larger slice of the pie in your head than Smidgen, but Smidge is still a piece of the pie and who knows, in the coming weeks there might be others that become pieces of the pie. I know I sound like a downer here but I so recognize the tone of your words, the excitement, giddy hopes, dreams all for this one man you really don’t know much about. I really wish this was all happening before your date with Smidge. I am so afraid that if you give him the “friend” vibe or are absent mindedly thinking of LS while you are with Smidge, that he will retreat as a possible partner for good. And in my head I am thinking nice guys really do finish last, because you have flipped over the difficult, complex, potentially more exciting but emotional rollercoaster ride to hell LS while the little warm, snuggly and safe giraffe will be put out to pasture in your heart : (

    Having said all of that and now feeling like the little devil on your shoulder, am hoping that you get what you want, that all of your dreams do come true and that you are through with disappointment because a plankton becomes an expert in disappointment in a way others will never know. Please use head along with heart in the coming couple of months. I sincerely do hope it all works out for you!

    • The Plankton says:

      Dear Erin, Thank you for this. Every word taken in, I promise. I won’t dismiss Smidgen, even if I am hoping for good news from LS. I realise that I cannot afford to be that foolish! Px

  • Erin says:

    BTW, have said a prayer to the cupid gods, let the RIGHT man win your heart, whomever that might be. Just want you to be happy, long-term happy : )

  • Lydia says:

    Good luck with it.
    Can’t you just ask to see him before then? I don’t see why it has to be such a palaver and so un straight forward. You like someone so you tell them. If they don’t like you then that’s that.

    You’re very lucky to be able to get away from children to do this kind of thing Loads of other divorced women like I am never have that chance.

    • The Plankton says:

      Dear Lydia, To answer your question: LS is in another country at the moment, that’s why I can’t see him sooner, otherwise I sure as hell would be concocting something! As for not being with the children; this will be the rarest of rare occurences and it’s because it’s one of the occasions when they will be with their dad at the time. I promise I am not abandoning them! Px

      • Lydia says:

        That’s fine. I have mine 365 days a y ear which certanily puts me as a massive distanvantage compared with other divorced mothers in their 40s who often have every other weekend free but I don’t let that hinder me. You have to look on the bright side.

      • EmGee says:

        Lydia, somehow I suspect that your circumstances allow for a sitter of one sort or another. I haven’t got children myself, but somehow my parents, who did have limited means and are still together, managed to take small vacations and left us with appropriate supervision.

  • EmGee says:

    Something to go on besides speculation, Good luck!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thought for the Day: Not Thinking About Men. As If. at The Plankton.

meta

