Schopenhauer

October 29, 2011 § 9 Comments

“The beard, being a half-mask, should be forbidden by the police.  It is, moreover, as a sexual symbol in the middle of the face, obscene: that is why it pleases women.”

Regular commentator, Margaux, very kindly provided this Schopenhauer quote for me after yesterday’s post and so saved me more looking.

It is a quote I remember from years ago and I had forgotten the last bit, with which I, obviously, robustly disagree.  But I still like the quote, and I totally agree with the first bit.  Beards should be forbidden by the police, but not because they are half-masks.  Because they so dramatically lower the aesthetic tone of humanity.

I promise that is my last word on loathsome beards.

§ 9 Responses to Schopenhauer

  • Lydia says:

    They are coming into fashion at the moment, but I still don’t like them. I don’t mind hair in general on men but not on the face.
    They are also on the increase in younger Muslim men. There are some pretty impressive beards around at the moment but I don’t find any of them sexually attractive.

  • anniebub says:

    I agree. Loathe them. Must go back to stories from childhood and the horrors of Bluebeard, who incidently, if you remember, kept about 100 wives locked up, and did them in one by one, until the last one outwitted him, and escaped. That was a tale told to children…!!! So. Beards. A complete NO NO.

  • DAN says:

    PLANKTON, WHAT IS YOUR VIEW ON MOUSTACHES, GOATYS, PEIRCINGS, ETC……

    ALSO REMEMBER THAT FOR EACH ONE OF THESE YOU DISLIKE YOU ARE REDUCING THE NUMBER OF MALES THAT YOU ARE GOING TO INTERACT WITH, AND THEREBY MAY ACTUALLY MISS OUT ON THE VERY PERSON THAT YOU ARE LOOKING FOR, BE IT A LIFE LONG FREIND, OR MORE IMPORTANTLY YOUR SOULMATE ALL BECAUSE OF WHAT EXACTLY ?
    YOU DONT LIKE THE COLOUR OF THE PAGE, SO TO SPEAK !
    WHERE DOES IT END ?

    ALWAYS REMEMBER THE OLD AND VERY TRUE SAYING,

    ” NEVER JUDGE A BOOK BY IT’S COVER ”

    DAN.

    • Lydia says:

      It depends how much choice you have, I always have so much choice I can even reject men who use “it’s” for its never mind the bearded ones. However your point is right – too mnay criteria and people have no one.

      What matters to me is (1) clever enough (2) find them attractive (3) sexually compatible. Those are the big three. Oh and single too of course but that kind of thing you can take as read.

  • Joules says:

    Dan Darling – the caps lock again. Please.

    Regarding beards – depends if they are nicely trimmed – the big bushy kind is very common in the scientific field in which I work – Any comments? Have to say that the majority of my male co-workers are the very reliable sort – only two divorced amongst roughly 25 of them.

    Wonder if this apparent antipathy to facial hair is why my very nice, extremely intelligent and interesting young (mid 30s) male assistant has not managed to find a nice young lady. Any takers out there?

    In regard to planktonness: Have any of you read the article in November’s Atlantic?
    http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2011/11/all-the-single-ladies/8654/
    Interesting and well written piece. Though not particulalry hopeful for the Plankton status.

    Regarding LS dear Plankton, do you think you are attracted to him so much because he represents the kind of life that you would like to have….if responsbilities did not exist and things were different.

  • Jane says:

    I totally agree with Plankton regarding men with beards. Even if they have nice personalities, men with beards are the biggest turn off that I know of!

  • Lydia says:

    I rejected one on beard grounds even just today. I would even accept a man of 5 foot 6 over one with a beard.

  • There are fundamentalist sects of Judiasm, Christianity as well as Islam which forbid men to shave their faces- I never quite understand this one, from the Mennonite Christians to the Hasidic Jews to fundamentalist Moslems, how cleanliness is next to godliness, except for when it comes to your own face?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Schopenhauer at The Plankton.

meta

