Adventure?

December 30, 2011 § 51 Comments

Sometimes, I think my view of the world is a very narrow one.  The amount of reading I do, I hope, broadens the mind a bit, but I am not sure if it does enough.  I see a great many people a great deal of the time, and there are no restrictions in terms of conversation, but I don’t actually go very far.  A lack of funds and being a single mother without anyone who can babysit for much more than an evening, rather precludes travel.  I know flights can be cheap but I never seem to find the ones for 99p, or if I do they leave at 3am from some airport in the middle of fucking nowhere and charge £315,248 for the return.  I’m sure I could find a way, though, and I often wonder if I shouldn’t take off somewhere for a week or a fortnight or a month, even, and come back with renewed eyes?

I have a friend who is a mover and shaker in film.  She is a devoted mother but she goes away a lot for her work.  She finds herself in faraway places in unusual and varied circumstances.  Her new partner is from a very different culture from her own.  She met him at a meeting in, for the sake of argument, Timbuktu.  He is part-European, part something quite else.  She has completely taken on board his global nationality and existence.  I think she is a wonderful and inspiring and exotic creature, talented and beautiful and original and brilliant.  I adore her and we laugh together a lot.  She is into various leanings which I dismiss as pretentious clap-trap; she reads endless books on various aspects of spirituality which I feel are more than dubious mumbo-jumbo, and it is with tremendous affection that I sometimes call her Mystic Mary.

But I feel I can easily imagine at which one of us Whomsoever it is on High is laughing.  Mystic Mary with her lovely, loopyness; and worldly existence; and exciting, unexpected fellow and ideas; and who flits between London, LA and Geneva or wherever, with all the verve and joy of a person who is embracing the world?  Or me, who trudges between my front door, the school gates and the local Co-op with a certain hunch of familiarity with my friendly pavements and a solitary, seasonal scowl; a sole text manifestly lacking soul the only smidgen of anything that means I may have been, for all of 23 seconds and anyway months ago now, in the mind of a man (LS) other than the fastest dentist in the West (who can see me off in about 25)?

I should take a few leaves out of Mystic Mary’s book.  I should put some childcare in place and board a plane to somewhere and see colours and sights and people and places, and hear opinions and views that will shake me about.  A downtrodden person I know just came back from a week in South America and said it made him look at the world in a whole new light.  He is determined to become more chilled and remain so.  I don’t know if it worked.  Which reminds me of something my father used to say to me:  Nothing matters very much, and very much doesn’t matter at all.

Travel not to find a new man – I am under no such misplaced illusion – but travel to find a new attitude?  A new outlook on a rather insular life?

But where to go?  And how?  Alone or with a friend?  These questions come round again and again.  I am excited by the thought of, variously, Chicago, Mumbai, Sao Paolo, Moscow, Timbuktu.  I am plucking at names here!  Anywhere!  I go through my ideal travel companions, be they Mrs Standard Bearer or Charlotte or Janey, or whoever, and I think, yeah, and how do I suppose they could take time out just like that and, even if they could, why on earth they’d like to do so with me?

So it is, I don’t ever get very far.

Reality sets in.  The prospect of missing my children.  Wherefore the money to fund this folly anyway?  Or indeed the childcare to facilitate it?  Also, a terrible fondness for my own bed, and a fatal addiction to gossiping and giggling with my family and already friends.

A love of home.  And an abiding fear that a plankton flight to Timbuktu is really only a glorified pottery course for all the good it would do me.  Something rather sad and pathetic about it, and I can’t see myself, somehow, making of it what that American author did, the one who wrote Eat, Pray, Love,  (a second husband, a bestselling book and a movie, among other things).  And all the apparent good would probably rub off the moment I stepped back across my own beloved threshold, like so much dank clay washed from the hands and forearms down the sink of the kitchen in the church hall when Tuesday evening’s class comes to an end.

So it is, narrow-minded maybe, that for the moment, I am sticking with the Travel Section in my favourite bookshop and just dreaming, whither?

§ 51 Responses to Adventure?

  • Are you a psychic Plankton ?? I was just going to suggest, as a New Year Idea …try for a Man of another Culture, Race, Religion, Dietary Needs ….and you are right there . I just wrote on another link of yours …well ,my Woman is French ..I upped and left in 3 weks flat ….. WhoooRollercoasters at MY Age!!
    try it ..you may like it …I’ll go with you as well……lol xx Happy New Year P

  • Mezzanine says:

    Go, Ms P. Go. If you can manage your childcare etc and find the funds, go. I have been travelling abroad since I was 18 when I first started work. I stopped when I married as my ex hated travelling abroad so we saw more of this country but things didn’t work out and I started travelling again. I appreciate it is easier for me as I have no children (can’t have rather didn’t want any) so as a plankton have free time on my hands when not overseeing the care of two elderly parents.

    I’ve gone on holiday with a group of friends, just another friend and on my own. I love travelling on my own. I meet so many people from all different backgrounds. People see a female on her own and make an effort to talk to you so I never feel lonely, even if I want to be alone! Who I go with or whether I go alone depends on who is available at the time of booking the holiday, so going on my own never bothers me as I understand friends sometimes can’t afford a holiday or are taken up with a new beau.

    I’m off to Croatia, taking in Venice, in June and I’m so looking forward to it. You never know I might meet someone or I may not. Either way I know I will come back to Blighty with a different outlook on life.

    Go……….book it………have fun x

  • EmGee says:

    Anyone with her fair share of intellectual curiosity would prefer to be Mystic Mary than Placid Plankton, but most of us do not have the wherewithal to do it.

    I’m an armchair global traveller myself, and when the urge to discover gets too strong, I fire up one of Michael Palins’ delightful travelogues, and dream… I even keep my passport up to date, even though I cannot afford so much as to get the timing belt replaced on my car right now. I travelled quite a bit when I was in my early 20s, and I am grateful for that, had I known the opportunity to do so at will would dry up at 25, never to return, I’d have made different choices.

    Luckily, I meet all kinds of people with interesting and diverse experiences right here at home, enough to realize that none of us can ever have all the experiences possible. My cousin is giving his wife a trip to Paris for herself and her best friend in June, probably the only way this friend would ever possibly get to go there or anywhere. Wish I could win a BFF lottery like *that*!

  • Joules says:

    Dear Ms P. Just got back from across the pond and would first like to apologise for my fellow countrymen who have been trolling here. Not all american men are so rude and some actually get irony.

    From today’s post I thought you were ready to take off for Italy – at least the eat part of the eat, pray love thing is fairly easy to accomplish and actually the Italian portion of the book was the best written part I thought. I think you might give a different slant to things, and your writing is definately up to it.

    Go on, see if you can get a book advance for it and take the kids with you – experience planktonhood in a few different countries and see what we are all talking about. You could go to Ireland and explore the demographic aspect of planktoness. You could visit other parts of europe or the more agricultural areas of the US (where I am from) and see that the shoe is on the other foot in these areas, with the women leaving to get further education and not returning. Down under to see what the situation is there. What about into Asia where professional women are turning their back on marriage?

    Of course who knows who you might meet along the way and would be a darn sight more fun than going on a online dating site.

  • june says:

    I do get what you mean Plankton and sometimes rather feel that way myself.

    Before i retired i did used to have two or three trips a year in Europe , nothing exotic, very rarely with a friend as most have partners, but usually by myself. I enjoyed them but looking back the delights of Paris,Venice etc would have been improved greatly by a companion, and now even if i could afford it and as a pensioner i dont think i could, going alone holds no charms for me anymore. Im glad i did it but now i feel i have no desire to go alone.

    If you are happy where you are then P would it make that much difference going somewhere new. When i did these trips i lived in the small town i was born it and felt the need to leave frequently. Now i live in a city where im happy, if id have stayed in small town might have still been able to afford the trips or some of them, but i wouldnt have been happy. Perhaps thats it, if we happy with where we are and who we know, we have no desire to go galavanting off, maybe its the credit crunch, maybe its the fact that there is unrest in so many places, even in europe,eg. greece, that somehow home and what we know seems preferable.

    Also dear P perhaps without the significant other what we know is better, and maybe the dreams are better in the Travel section for now.

  • J says:

    I think that you would get a bit of a boost from taking little breaks in the UK, P, before considering distant shores. I’ve always wanted to go to some of the quirky festivals we have here like Up Helly Aa in the Shetlands:

    http://www.uphellyaa.org/

    and West Country apple tree wassailing:

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/earth/4241254/West-Country-raises-a-glass-to-Wassailing.html

    A bit further afield, I have taken myself off for weekends in cities like Hamburg and Helsinki. I’m interested in architecture, theatre and classical music among other things, so always find something to do. Travelling on my own makes me more intrepid and I feel that I have had more interesting contact with the local people in the cities I’ve been to when I’ve been alone. If you travel with a friend you find yourself talking largely to that friend; if you travel alone, you find yourself talking to all sorts of people; that’s actually really refreshing.

    Next year I’d like to check out Liverpool again and Glasgow.

    I know that little suggestions like this don’t make any real impact on your plankton-ness and that they aren’t as glossy and exotic as the ideas you get from other people, but they are a start and I think perhaps more manageable for you.

    I reckon that you should make 2012 the year you start to venture beyond the geographical areas you normally inhabit as I think that treading the familiar paths time and time again is making you jaded. You will find yourself revitalised; you will also have new things to talk about when you meet men; what’s more, a person with something interesting to say is a person other people want to talk to, in my experience.

  • Oxonian says:

    You might be on to something here, as you do sound as if you could do with having your perspective on life shaken up a bit. I’ve only spent four nights in a populous, developing country (it was one of those which experienced regime change in 2011), and it was enough to make me see everything that little bit differently. It was also definitely something I had to see, hear, touch and smell rather than merely read about. So you needn’t go for long. You are probably in the best position to decide where, based on your earlier experience of travelling; tolerance of weather, exotic food, fauna and bacteria; languages and contacts.

    • leftatforty says:

      This is very interesting Oxonian. I have always wondered whether to go to a country which is developing, to a city with millions of people, would put my planktonian issues into contex.

  • maria says:

    Dear P, why not come to the lovely town of Braga, in the north of Portugal? It’s a great town and you’re welcome to my humble house.

  • Lizzie from Oz says:

    Hmmmm…… same here. I have done a fair but of travel (including one whole year) in the past. And the memory of it does make one think that I should probably be venturing off down that path again ………….. BUT.
    I love my home, my garden, my friends, my dogs, my social life. And I’m becoming progressively more sooky about it all as time goes by.
    Which is somewhat hindering when there is such a big world out there.

  • Elle says:

    Perhaps Mystic Mary envies you your children and circle of supportive friends. Does she much of her travel destinations or just the airports?

    I think your father had it right when he said nothing matters very much and very much doesn’t matter. Take out a subscription to National Geographic, it’s a very interesting way to see some of the world if you’re not in a position to leave home for long.

  • blogster says:

    “Something rather sad and pathetic about it, and I can’t see myself, somehow, making of it what that American author did, the one who wrote Eat, Pray, Love, (a second husband, a bestselling book and a movie, among other things). ”

    well your timing is out anyway. first you have to divorce your husband for some vague, nebulous reason and then swiftly translate this in to an initially unclear, yet somehow ultimately profound, backwards rationalisation for said divorce.

    and although her first husband has maintained incredible public grace since the publicity surrounding the book and movie, i seriously doubt he is overjoyed that she “made something of it”. And if you characterise inflicting unexplained misery on a guy and then expounding upon your self absorption and lack of introspection in a such a crass commercial manner as ‘making it’ then that perhaps says a lot. Dalrock has a classic post on Eat Pray Love in his archives.

    A vein of abdication of responsibility runs right through your post.

    • The Plankton says:

      Eh? I don’t think you know me very well. I don’t bring my ex-husband or my children into this blog except very, very occasionally, and then in the most generic of terms imaginable. I always think it is a tremendous idea to get one’s facts right before wading in with accusations.

    • Jane says:

      Ian…..another of your pseudonyms?

    • Margaux says:

      Tosser. If you had bothered to read this blog and not just come in trolling late in the day you’d know that the author of this blog is already divorced and on her own with her children.

      • The Plankton says:

        Thank you, Margaux! You said it for me. Pxx

      • blogster says:

        @the plankton. no one said you did bring your ex into the blog. What i do question is why you think emulating EPL is worthy?

        @margaux. the plankton has been linked to blogs “across the pond” in the us, as i`ve referenced in my above post (in case you actually didnt read it).

        she still doesn`t respond to my assertion that emulating the EPL lifestyle is hardly something worthy or respectable. or would you say that it is?

        I hardly think frivolous self indulgent divorce which blindsides a man is empowering or to something to be celebrated.

      • Elle says:

        Frivolous self indulgent divorce which blindsides a man? I thought divorce involved TWO people and that doesn’t include the children, if any. If you came out from under your bridge once in a while you might see things in a proper light and you would also be considerably less grumpy.

  • Chris says:

    You know, I have traveled a little. And it has taught me a lot. The place that taught me most was the Philippines. I have been there 3 times I think, and what I saw changed my way of thinking forever. I saw hellish poverty and slums. Street children who looked like the walking dead at maybe only 6 or 7 years of age. Families rooting through bins who looked closer to animals than humans. But the most heartrending sight I saw was a family digging for worms and insects to eat. They possessed not a pair of shoes between them yet bore themselves with such dignified composure. Heartbreaking. Since those trips I have never complained about my life in the UK again. My life is far from perfect but there for the grace of God go I.

  • Sarah says:

    With you all the way, P. The effort (and cost) of organising childcare plus the expense of the trip which I would not be able to afford, plus the horrors of modern travel which make up most holidays these days would make me regret every euro cent and ruin any pleasure I might get out of being away.

    I would also consider it highly frivolous to be spending so much money on entertaining myself for no particular reason (being worth it…) and guilt would set in because I’d be depriving some other part of my life with my children.

    Can’t be done. Unless there’s a man involved…

    • The Plankton says:

      My thoughts entirely, Sarah! thank you. Px

    • Elle says:

      Can you travel with your children? I suppose it all depends how old they are and when you can get away. July and August aren’t always good for travel because of heat, cost and crowds.

      I dream more about travel myself because I work in a job where I can only take a week off at a time, usually in July and August. That can be limiting so National Geographic keeps me sane.

      It’s usually cheaper to travel with a group than alone. Try some of the more adventurous Exodus holidays (some do solo departures only so are more conducive to mingling and making friends) and the children will be all excited that Mummy was sheikh, paralyzing,

    • Elle says:

      Can you travel with your children? I suppose it all depends how old they are and when you can get away. July and August aren’t always good for travel because of heat, cost and crowds.

      I dream more about travel myself because I work in a job where I can only take a week off at a time, usually in July and August. That can be limiting so National Geographic keeps me sane. I didn’t mean any offence to Plankton when I mentioned it last night.

      It’s usually cheaper to travel with a group than alone. Try some of the more adventurous Exodus holidays (some do solo departures only so are more conducive to mingling and making friends) and the children will be all excited that Mummy was abseiling, paragliding or whatever. And Mummy (or even those of us who aren’t mummies) will get a great sense of achievement for doing something different which will last hell after the trip is over.

  • rosie says:

    If you can find someone to look after the children how about a group trip to do some kind of activity (a horrible word in the holiday context but I couldn’t think of another one!), eg cooking, painting, reading, art appreciation, writing (you could impress everyone else even if you didn’t learn anything), sailing… ? Dip your toe in by just doing a weekend in the UK and it won’t cost a fortune either.

    I’ve travelled on my own a couple of times and I don’t mind the daytimes so much, it’s the evenings I can’t stand, when you’re surrounded by mooning couples, families and groups of friends and you end up back in the hotel room eating a take out and feeling more lonely than ever. I did anyway.

    And if you only go for a couple of days and the rest of the group turn out to be a bunch of dorks you won’t have to spend an entire two weeks with them!

  • Anniebub says:

    I think we are all allowed to dream a little but I agree; you are just as likely to find your piece of heaven closer to home, and the author of that appalling book Eat, Pray, Love has a lot to answer for. Just think of how many would-be Shirley Valentines have set off halfway round the world in search of escape and returned empty-handed, and poorer. How about an away day to somewhere closer to home instead like Cromer in Norfolk, for example? Don’t know why I thought if Croner except someone wrote an article about the train journey there last year, describing it as the last romantic train line in the UK. I’ll come with you. Happy New Year and may all your dreams come true’ xx

  • Castoff says:

    I too have been thinking about going away by myself, but being newly separated after almost 3 decades of joint travel, it is a bit scary. Finding myself on my own at 60 was a bit of a shock (well, a lot of a shock really) but also, in a tiny corner of my mind, a little bit liberating as well. I have always wanted to visit Rome, my ex never did, and I have a BA credit note which needs to be used within 6 months…. On the other hand, my sofa, my dogs, my familiar space all conspire to keep me with them, but they must be ignored I think, and all of us Planktons should take the plunge if we are tempted, and experience something new, even if it is only a weekend in Torquay.

    • The Plankton says:

      Dear Castoff, I think I am right in saying this is the first time you have commented? In which case, welcome and thank you. I agree, we probably should take the plunge, even if we don’t really want to, and even if it is only a weekend in Torquay! Best wishes, Plankton

    • Margaux says:

      Castoff – Rome is fabulous!!! Go! Go! One of the world’s great cities – the amazing history slaps you in the face around ever corner.. it’s beautiful in a raw savage way. Italians are fabulously friendly so you can sit in cafes and restaurants quite easily and happily. You must!

      • The Plankton says:

        You know what, Margaux, you may just have inspired me as well as Castoff! I was thinking maybe Italy…? Px

      • Castoff says:

        Thanks for that inspiration Margaux, I think that I will just get it booked and go! Nothing to lose, and all that………..and should be quite a novelty just being able to see what I want to see and not fit in with anyone else.

    • Dawn says:

      What Margaux said! You may well find, as I did, that travel without your ex is much more fun. I haven’t gone anywhere particularly exotic, but I have enjoyed the process so much more on my own. All the best for 2012 and your new circumstances. I won’t call you Castoff. Liberated, perhaps. Hope you find that to be more accurate once you’ve had a chance to adjust.

  • Lydia says:

    Parents, male and female, have a nummber one responsibility to their children. Lucky me has hers 365 days a year, not my choice necessarily but my duty. They’d be in care if I didn’t do that duty.

    So we start from that point. So therefore you want to travel take the children. We travel together. We got back from France last night. It may simply be because you picked a career as a teenager that wasn’t very well paid and I didn’t and thus it has an impact. However I believe holidays abroad with children can be very cheap and cheaper than the UK sometimes. Or may be it comes down to as a woman treble your income and the whole of life is easier. I don’t know.

    I read William Boyd’s “Any Human Heart” when we were in France earlier this week. It’s a very male book really which seems to be summarised as a lot of men’s principal focus is sexual conquests and men (and indeed women) who don’t build good relationships with their children nor concentrate on ensuring some financial security can end up poor and pretty miserable as the fictional man in the book did. However it is worth reading as it plots of life across the last century and the life stages many of us go through and perhaps what makes person A want person B (breasts, money, mind or whatever).

    i have made business trips no one else much wanted to do at fairly short notice – Iran, Nigeria etc I don’t use those to pick up men as I don’t mix work and pleasure and I go out there as late as possible and fly back over night because of my obligations to the children. i certainly agree that it can help people put their own situation into context if they travel and I think it’s good for children too.

    As for travel as a dating tool – yes. The more people you can be exposed to and the more you are out and about the more likely you find someone.

    It’s a known path – look at the Tolstoy English girl who married the Monogolian horseman (although later she seems now to be back in Europe with babies by a billionaire Russian). They you get all those working class British women over 40 who can’t get husbands and go to Kenya for the sex and something bring back a husband too. It’s no different from the male Thai bride scenario. Loverboy gets his entry visa and you get good regular sex and someone pretty attentive and grateful… although sometimes apparently they don’t stick around.

    Rather foolishly after the very male William Boyd book I began Hakim’s Erotic Capital book. She quotes statistics which by different country / cultures expect sex 365 days a year or more and others don’t. Apparently cold Northern Europe with its dour protestant/Puritan past has some of the worst sex rates in the world. In today’s Times sex column the issue of sexless marriage is debated. So I suppose culturally you could pick the country based on how much sex you want from a man. From what Hakim is saying it’s pretty likely (and I know it is true, we probably all do) that on the whole men want more sex than women. Mind you I’m an optimist. So I’d say if x% of women over 40 don’t really want sex that means that those of us who do and may be aren ‘t too bad at it have an even higher chance of getting a good man than the rest. So we are kind of benefited by the lack of interest of the rest of them.

  • Margaux says:

    I’m with Mezzanine on this.
    I think you either have the travel gene or you don’t.
    I live from trip to trip and am never happier than when I have one to look forward to. I am not awash with money -but am an avid watcher of deals and flight prices…

    I would rather spend money on travel than anything else. My flat can fall about my ears – I’d rather have a plane ticket than a new cooker/toaster/whatever any day.
    (I have a ‘travel bucket list’ I am excitedly working my way through)

    I don’t have children so I appreciate this is an emotional, financial and practical consideration. But if there is a way – maybe a quick jaunt to Paris or another nearby European city would be good for the soul, P?

    Different sights, sounds, tastes, conversations – all the cliches are true – travel broadens the mind & helps puts things in perspective – but it also has a way of helping see ourselves in a different light….

    • The Plankton says:

      Dear Margaux, You are so right. One of my parents was a professional traveller; the other a professional home bird, and I fear I inherited the latter’s gene. But i am excited by all the encouragement I have received here. I have a wild plankton friend in NYC who has been on about 83 (at last count) dates with different men in the past few WEEKS, and I think, maybe I should go and stay with her for a few days and just hang out and see what happens…There again your Rome idea is also pretty fabulous. Can you believe this, but I have never been… Florence, Milan, Venice, Pisa, but never Rome. Shameful… Px

  • rosie says:

    Another Roma-phile here!

  • Margaux says:

    P! – I am an Italophile…so if you are thinking of Italy, then in my view you can’t go wrong. The Italians are so easy going and their cities are to die for. I went to Venice for the first time this year ( one off the bucket list!) and it was like drifting dreamily through a Caravaggio painting. Unvbelievable beauty.
    Rome is my other favourite Italian city. Like Venice -so rich in treasures and history, but in a more rough edged way . Venice is a ‘wedding cake’. Rome is a Tiramisu that’s bursting at the edges….

  • Margaux says:

    Ah…just read your reply …I’ve been to all those cities too – my ‘shameful-I’ve never been’ one was Venice! The ex had always promised we’d do it together – and guess what ….we never did
    So ofcourse, I had to go – regardless of whether I had anyone to share it with.
    NYC would be fabulous too! Have you ever been? It’s like a shot in the arm of pure adrenalin!

  • Elle says:

    Go to Rome! It’s a great city and if you want to bring your children it shouldn’t be a problem because Italians love children and are very child friendly. Lots of culture and children would love the Da Vinci museums (there are two).

    It’s also great for solo travellers.

    • The Plankton says:

      Thank you, you may just be bending my arm here, Elle. px

      • Elle says:

        I’ve been to Rome twice and would go again in a heartbeat. You can walk almost everywhere which is great for working off the lovely food. If you don’t want to walk you’re missing out but there’s an excellent Metro.

  • june says:

    Yes P if you go anywhere must be Italy, im amazed so many people i know have been to Spain,Greece etc but never Italy, in my opinion the best country in Europe, wherever you go the Lakes, Rome, Sorrento all wonderful. I long to go again,the only thing that stops me is cost, i do like a bit of comfort when travelling and i have no desire to go alone, its the evenings as one of your other bloggers said.

    Citywise my favourite is Paris, think i could still venture there alone as have been many times before,so that is still a possibilty for me.

  • Steve says:

    Venice is fabulous – a picture postcard around every corner.

    However, if you can cope with the journey, may I recommend my favourite city – Sydney. You’ll never be bored, or alone (unless you choose to be, of course)

  • Margaux says:

    Ah Steve …now you’re talking! Sydney is my no.1 favourite city in the whole world. But it’s a bit far if you have children at home and may need to get back in a hurry – and the exchange rate is rubbish at the moment 😦

  • Yoga Gurl says:

    Have you thought of smaller trips to give you a feeling of adventure without much money and hassle and to work up to a longer trip?

    I am in my 40’s, live in CA. I don’t have a lot of disposable income but I do like to see new places and feel that I’ve been “somewhere” even for a day. You know what has helped me feel this? I joined three biking groups. One goes for a long stretch a long the beach, another does easy mountain biking rides, and another does urban rides.

    I’ve done a ride with each one and come home feeling somewhat refreshed and feeling like I’ve been somewhere new…without spending a ton of money or committing a ton of time.

    And, I’ve met a lot of friendly people.

    Hiking is another way. Join a hiking group that takes you out of your regular route and see something new.

    Of course, it’s not as exotic as the longer farther away trips but it’s not as difficult or expensive either.

    You might meet a travel partner, who knows?

    I also did a cruise when I was single. I was in a group of other singles. Not a bad way to go…many had a great time on the trip. And cruises you don’t have to worry about safety so much or the stress of getting around on your own and they are very affordable these days AND you can bring children.

    But I would also say don’t feel too bad for not being as adventuresome as your girlfriend. I find tons of value in enjoying home.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Adventure? at The Plankton.

meta

