Night Out On A Very Special Date

January 29, 2012 § 23 Comments

Phew.  Here at last.  Been something of a headless chicken these past three days, and nothing to do with LS’s email, I may say, to which I haven’t had time to reply as yet.  No, very much to do with being with some of the best of historic friends and having a lovely, full-on time with them.  Nectar.

But scroll back to Friday: an incredibly generous Immediate had given me the treat of taking the children out to supper before the theatre.  While Pizza Express alas comprises for these diminutive Immediates a gourmet experience (failure mother!), I thought, no, we’ll push the boat out and go to the new, all-fashionable, all singing, all dancing Delaunay.  I never do anything like that these days.  That is an erstwhile me.  But, hey, one-off; treat!  The former Ivy duo have done it again and we ate in Aldwych splendour.  The children behaved accordingly – and I felt swollen with the bliss of taking them to somewhere grown-up and with the fact that they “got” it, even if they did each conservatively choose the New York Hot Dog and chips (a gratifying fiver a pop).  A wonderful experience – them so full of sweet wonder at the solicitous waiters who didn’t once patronise them, and the doorman with his smart shiny buttons, and the marble all about the place, so cool to stroke and to touch, even the luxurious loos.  So appreciative they were.  And all for £43 for the lot of us.

Then onto One Man, Two Guvnors about a year after everyone else.  (I never did maintain my finger was anywhere near anything resembling a pulse).  We loved it.  The play was flawed but hilarious at times.  The performances  were excellent but I couldn’t help but fall in love with James Cordon and his very natural, twinkly, irresistable charm.  My father had a theory that women like to be laughed into bed and I know what he meant.  Cordon, with such deft if unsubtle humour so brilliantly carried off, was incredibly attractive despite his clownish trousers and carb-happy girth.

The night out was pure pleasure, nothing other than the thing in itself and joyous on its own terms.

For a few hours there, I even clean forgot I was a plankton.

More, please…

§ 23 Responses to Night Out On A Very Special Date

  • EmGee says:

    It sounds charming, P. Over here it seems that it’s ‘all about the kids’, so it’s Chuck E Cheese or bust. Heaven forbid they should learn manners at such a delicate age and discover finer things.

  • Lydia says:

    No no. If you want LS email him right back. Let him know you want him or you’ll lose him. It will take you 3 minutes. you don’t need to agonise over every word. Strike whilst the iron is hot.

    The meal sounds good. it’s good for children to try different places. You seem to lead a much more going out to things type of life than lots of people, cinema, theatres etc

  • Caz says:

    Lovely experience…one shoud expose children to all these social occasions from an early age so they are comfortable in all situations.
    I have a question about table manners ….if a guy holds a knife as if it’s a pencil would that cause anyone problems…..or if they scooped up peas with their fork?….if so – how would you deal with it?!

    Glad you are getting out and about P and not thinking endlessly about LS.

    • EmGee says:

      As long as a guy doesn’t clutch his eating utensils like a 3 yr old learning to feed itself (and sadly, most seem to), I don’t personally mind how one manipulates one’s knife, fork, or spoon. I thought scooping peas with a fork was proper, as opposed to impaling them or using a spoon or eating them off the table knife?

      I can’t seem to visualize how one holds a knife like a pencil?

      One thing that does irk me is the increasing habit of turning one’s fork over tines down as the food makes it’s way to the mouth, Looks prissy and presumptuous to me.

      • fi says:

        Where do you live then if “tines down” is pretentious? Am afraid I can’t cope with poor table manners and I find it embarrassing to eat with someone who can’t hold a knife and fork properly. Particularly if its a knife held like a pencil. Ot knife and fork not put together at the end of a meal.

    • MissM says:

      Table manners are so far under the radar of my concerns that I am still somewhat amazed that anyone cares. As long as he is not laughing at his own noisy flatulence because he has the sense of humour of a five year old that is. Or doing something unpleasant like chewing with his mouth open. If the peas end up where they should I really don’t care all that much how they get there. Why on earth does it matter how someone else prefers to holds their knife or fork?

      I guess my lack of class is showing.

    • MissM says:

      Thinking about table manners, the only people I know who would give a damn are older than me. Younger people have no interest in such trivial details and would probably just tell anyone criticising the way they hold their cutlery to go get a life, and then maybe tweet about it or post the comment on Facebook with a few ‘wtf’s and ‘lol’s. So maybe it is an age thing. Or an English thing, left over from when you could ascertain whether someone is of good breeding by such things, as opposed to them needing to go eat downstairs with the servants. Either way, forks, chopsticks, or fingers, I really can’t find it in me to care how other people prefer to eat.

      • The Plankton says:

        It’s interesting that in the Guardian mag on Saturdays, on my favourite page, the blind date page, the (almost always young ie 20s-30s) pair are always asked about each other’s table manners and I don’t think I have ever seen a reply which wasn’t “impeccable”. Px

      • Lydia says:

        It’s an English thing and my daughters are more critical than I am. I am more than happy to sit cross legged on the floor scooping food out of a bowl with a hand on a grassy field.

  • june says:

    Lovely P, it is nice when one forgets one is a plankton is it not,

    I was same friday night, i had a gang of girlfriends round, all bar one coupled up,and i too forgot i was a plankton, Plenty of food wine and conversation.

    Maybe thats it, we should be grateful for what we ve got, children and friends you and good friends me.Trouble is that its good at time isnt it and we do appreciate it, its just it isnt quite enough. My friends were talking about men and their habits and what they dont do, and you think god i dont have to put up with that, but then you think yes but i dont get the good bits either do i. My flat felt so slient after they left, i had to put music on whilst i washed up,even at gone 1 in morning . . Thats the crux i guess, for me the silence of an empty flat, sometimes its too damm silent.anmd they go home to someone, whereas you…..well i dont have to spell it out do i.

    • MissM says:

      I too rely on the radio, tv or music to try and make up for how empty of any life my house is. Of course relationships are not perfect but I think I’d rather have a man around doing something irritating than have no one around at all.

      No one can say with certainty how they would react to a situation unless they have actually lived it. I have a friend who likes to boast that they would not be in the least bit troubled if they had to live alone. It just happened that they were on their own for only a few days recently and discovered the reality is somewhat different to what they imagined, and didn’t like it one little bit.

      There is a huge difference between being alone sometimes and being alone all the time or when you don’t want to be. I love being alone sometimes, I actually need time on my own, but when it happens all the time, it is nowhere near as enjoyable.

  • Jo says:

    P. How lovely. How extraordinary! I too was doing the same on friday night. In the same area. At the same time. Around the corner from where you were! Took my daughter to see War Horse at the theatre. Ate at Orso restaurant first, in Covent Garden. (She is great when dining out, as she has been exposed to it from a very young age and I am always deeply proud of her and the way she conducts herself. So so sweet.). We too had a gorgeous and magical experience. I glanced across at her once or twice during the performance, as her eyes were out on stalks and she sat enraptured by the magic of those remarkable horses. (‘Puppets’. But that description in no way does justice to the sublime creation.).
    One of those times when love is love and feels like all you need.
    (Lest I am creating a picture of some perfect child (!), we were back to strops and stress the next day..That’s life.).
    A special lovefest of an evening.

  • Jo says:

    We may well have passed in the street! Now there’s a thing…….x

  • Jo says:

    In answer to Caz’s question.
    Those things can be slightly irritating, yes. But if the guy is great as a person then….Who gives a flying fuck.
    Whether it would cause ‘problems’? Or ‘how to deal with it’? Oh come onnnnnn. There are so many worse things than that! Please….

    • MissM says:

      If the manner in which another person holds their cutlery becomes a problem for someone, I’d suggest that they be grateful that they don’t have any actual real problems to concern themselves with.

      • Lydia says:

        However it can be an indicator of a lot of other things in English cutlure. If they do X then ABC also follow so it is not necessarily bad to look for signs of someone who may not be compatible with you. It will be a class thing too. IN some ways that can make dating easier, not harder.

        All over this planet people pick partners through such methods from the India caste system which is probably the most rigid to bans on Hindus and Muslims getting together, from Jewish dating agencies and the like,.

        If someone shares your background and culture and mores and way of looking at the world they are likely to fit. If they are totally different they might indeed be wonderful (and I have had dinner with many different types of men) but it is less likely to be so. I was in touch with a man yesterday who presumably was the wrong class so fine, doesn’t matter, chidlren don’t go to fee paying schools etc which I suppose mgiht make it harder to meld families together but then as we start talking we are just different on everything, huge political argument ensues. Had I instead just gone with – ah wrong class and moved on knowing that therefore other stuff was unlikely to fit either I might have saved myself the acrimonious debate.

      • Jo says:

        Abso-blinking-lutely MissM. I completely agree with you.

  • rosie says:

    As long as a bloke’s not rude to waiters (I have been out with one), doesn’t chew with his mouth open or make those horrible slapping sounds everything else is a bonus.

    • Twinkletoes says:

      Rosie, you’ve reminded me of an internet date from a couple of years ago. He’d criticised me on the phone for being a size 14, saying that he had only ever dated women who were a 10 or 12.

      I went to meet him anyway, out of curiosity and wanting to prove that I wasn’t an elephant. Ha ha, no, HE was the elephant, having lied about his build and used an out of date photo.

      He ate a fair amount of humble pie as we had a drink, then insisted we had a meal – I was hungry by then and desperate for something to eat. I sat watching him eat with his mouth open and talk at the same time. Revolting! He didn’t get a second date.

  • rosie says:

    P, I love the blind date column too but what gets me is when someone gives their date an eight or nine out of 10 and when they’re asked if they’d see them again they say ‘yes, as friends’. No wonder everyone’s single!

  • Margaux says:

    The whole table manners thing is tribal. Mrs T’s ‘PLU’ springs to mind. Scooping peas, holding a knife like a pen doesn’t bother me – I agree there are far worse things in life. But we all make value judgements without realising and table manners are one of the ways we do it.

    My one bug bear is also one of Fi’s -I can’t stand it if someone doesn’t put their cutlery together at the end of a meal. I’ve sat in a restaurant with a man who did that while all the waiters studiously ignored us assuming he hadn’t finished. In the end I had to tactfully suggest he did or we would never have got on to dessert and coffee ! ( lol!)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Night Out On A Very Special Date at The Plankton.

meta

