Leap Year Bollocks…

February 29, 2012 § 22 Comments

…following on so swiftly after Valentine’s Day bollocks, seems a conspiracy to very poke fun at the hapless plankton of this world.

As if we have anyone to propose to, even if we wanted to go in for such perverted indignities.  No?

But today’s fluff and nonsense is not going to be getting me down.  A couple of days ago I received a little lentil of good news with regards to one of my most precious immediates.  Nothing like a bit of good news.  The spirits have dandelioned considerably.  This said just to reassure you that the mood is not entirely dependent on the whims of various twinkles (actually, correction: currently just one rather distant and flaky twinkle).  Said twinkle hasn’t responded yet to my email – you don’t say? – but I am feeling uncharacteristically confident that he will.  Perhaps it’s the good news from elsewhere which is putting an optimistic spin on my outlook.  But the best thing is, I don’t mind awfully if he doesn’t.  The next few days are exceeding busy with a bit of hareing round the country for a talk here, and a nearly-nonagenarian immediate’s nuptials there.  Plus children to be tended to and words to be written!

It’s all go!  Just not – quite! – down on one knee to some SFAR.

§ 22 Responses to Leap Year Bollocks…

  • MissBates says:

    “A lentil of good news.” You DO have a turn of phrase, Plankton. But you know that. Anyway, I wish you a whole bowl of lentil soup of good news in the coming weeks. ; )

  • Lydia says:

    This is the day for plankton to propose although a good few women do anyway. It does not have to wait until today in 2012.

    I’m glad you had good news. We all need that from time to time. I have someone who might on some grounds be suitable (but not met yet; apparently he shakes when he sees I have sent an email – weird) although not if I did a checklist approach which I try to avoid. Someone else is having a dreadful time (wife, allegations of adultery and the usual stuff – poor him and her for that matter), someone else I rather liked has had a new baby with second wife so that’s lovely news although presumably wife one would rather they were eradicated from the face of the earth given the way he treated her. Who else? A couple who had seemed very keen and then disappeared. And one to call at 3 but he’s abroad so that is very unlkely to work.

    • zoe says:

      My goodness, Lydia. The plot thickens. Men with wives, men with new babies and now couples? Which site are you on exactly? Maritalaffair.co.uk? Time to ‘fess up.

      • Margaux says:

        Yes, I’ve asked Lydia that before – what site do you use, L ? you are always drowning in seemingly endless possibilities

      • Lydia says:

        Men with wives are all about us. I keep away from them. This one thankfully has disappeared after his wife had asked to see his emails. i feel sorry for him.
        The man with the baby I didn’t continue with. I had almost forgotten him. He seemed on the phone not quite warm enough, not what I want, not deep enough and I had an accident so wasn’t really up to seeing someone unless it seemed just right.
        Couple – I didn’t mean 2 people looking for a third. I’m not into that although there was the man I met on Valentine’s day who found a woman who wanted men younger and he procured them for her – h e offered it and he watched whilst they were at it apparently. He was not right for me – wrong class, shorter than i am etc not bright enough.

        The one abroad would be compatible in one sense but his English wasn’t that good (Scandinavia) and I cannot be bothered with the effort. i suspect he wants someone when he comes over here to dress up and take out and then undress and he needs brains apparently. When I am a bit older and have no chidlren around and more time and perhaps if no man by then then I suppose that kind of thing might be fun but I doubt it’s really me. I won’t call him again.

        Then there’s a really nice one who isn’t suitable in lots of way sbut is convincing me it doesn’t matter. Mind you I haven’t met him and he doesn’t live near so we’ll have to see but I do like him which is a good start and he seems quite keen even when I point out difficulties.

        I wouldn’t say what I site I am on. Just a normal large ordinary dating site for single people.

  • Ms. Plankton, I do believe that this is the first time that I have ever seen the word “dandelion” used as a verb. I’ve looked in a couple of dictionaries and it is only listed as a noun, although I only own American dictionaries. If “dandelion” is really used a a verb in the U.K., then we can ignore the rest of my comment here this morning, but I do believe that you have just coined a new use for an existing word.

    I don’t know the proper channels for this sort of thing, but I for one like it, and I’d love to see “dandelion” appear as a verb as well as a noun in English language dictionaries, beginning in 2013!!!

  • “…and a nearly-nonagenarian immediate’s nuptials there…”

    Am I reading this correctly here? You’ll be attending a wedding sometime within the next few days in which both the bride as well as the groom are in their late ’80’s?

    Remember my comment from yesterday (Tues. 02/28)…

  • In the country that I live in, leap year only means that this will be an election year… And nothing else.

    After reading Ms. Plankton’s daily entry for today, I’ve just looked this up in wikipedia- I’ve just learned that in the United Kingdom, leap years have another significance- Learn something new everday I suppose…

  • rosie says:

    I forgot all about today being a leap year until I fired up the computer this morning, expecting it to be 1 March. Good job there’s no one to propose to even if I wanted to, which hopefully I never will. The thought of having my very own wedding (unless we ran off into the sunset without telling anyone) is, and always has been, enough to bring me out in hives. Thank god it’s not likely to happen now!

    Glad you’ve had some good news, P. Spring is in the air and that always makes me feel happier, even if there’s no other reason to.

  • EmGee says:

    I am confident that LS will take you out to dinner or something equally as nice. And he won’t contact you until his feet are firmly on home soil and his bag is unpacked – perhaps a day after that.

  • plumgrape says:

    I think with all the software and Facebook encroachments and applications built upon applications now available for easy quick access download its very easy and quite reasonable to loose somebody in all the milleau. Keep a close grip on what you have got Plankton it amounts to heaps.
    Propose to whoever you would like.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Leap Year Bollocks… at The Plankton.

meta

