Not Tempting Fate

March 23, 2012 § 37 Comments

OK.

Although I want to talk about nothing else, all talk of Surprise Twinkle has to be put on hold for a couple of weeks, when I promise to elaborate.  He is absolutely heavenly but there is nothing at this point to report.  And may never be (though, whatever happens, I promise to fill you in up to this point, even if there’s nothing more).

I have had a shitty few years and, without wising to sound either spoilt or entitled in any way, I am thinking maybe it is about time that my wheel of fortune turned.  My turn for a bit of the good stuff?  Done my innings, well and proper, no?  Too many crushing disappointments can make a person ill.  Though that’s probably the way the wind is blowing.  Again.  Though I hope not.

Now all I can do is wait.  I am waiting, and hoping, hoping, hoping, and the waiting, though intangible, can be felt all too tangibly as a sort of uneasy heaviness verging on nausea.  I shall give it a couple of weeks but in the meantime, I cannot write about him.  Nothing to write other than that he is completely wonderful.

I can say no more now.  Only that I saw a penny on the pavement and picked it up, clutching as I am at any straw for a ladybird of luck which so often flies away from me.

No more to be said as yet.  Forgive me.  I cannot afford to tempt fate.

Tomorrow, it’ll be business as usual.  My normal blah blah blah.

Stick with me?

§ 37 Responses to Not Tempting Fate

  • Barry says:

    And I’ll have two large cups of the “Coffee” you were drinking with him please 😉 xx

  • Lydia says:

    Mmm, may b e act, not wait might be good. Lots of things in our lives we can change. We can have plans, things we seek to achieve and if you get those in writing and then act on them both in relation to work and life in general there is probably more chance of achieving them. Some women talk but don’t act, moan but don’t take the steps necessary to achieve what they are after. The moaning might make them feel better so has its place but it is the acting rather than passively waiting like a Saudi girl in a tent until her father determines her future husband.

    Someone wrote on here yesterday about chasing her man into submission or whatever and perhaps a bit less passivity does work as long as it does not seem stalkerlike. It’s a difficult issue to get right as some men like to feel they are chasing you, others are pretty lazy and will wait until something is clearly available.

    Often life does have a lot of bad bits coming one after the other (and some people never seem to get any luck). Divorce is never much fun for any of us and we’re in one of the worst recessions since the 30s soa life is pretty bad for lots of people at the moment many of whom are worse off than most of us here as we can at least afford an internet connection.

  • Erin says:

    Of course! But please relax and don’t obsess over it or you will make yourself ill. I know it is hard, but hindsight is 20/20 (we’ve ALL been there) and you need to be thinking on a wider scale right now, not just pinpointing one person. Until you are in a committed relationship, please keep other options open. If another opportunity for a date comes up, take it! Just thinking about your vulnerable heart, P. Am hoping like mad that this blossoms into what you want, but if you obsess and it doesn’t work out, the disappointment will be devastating to you. Keep it cool and cautiously optimistic : )

  • Nats says:

    am so excited for you…it gives me hope.I can understand why you need to hold it tight.

  • Lindy says:

    It was me, Lydia, and I do think there are some instances where a bit of stalking can pay off, but you can work out pretty quickly a) whether to do it at all and b) whether it’s achieving results! In my case, he needed a tweak, but his cautious interest had already been registered by me. I fear in a case such as that of LS, no amount of stalking would work! It’s FAB news, P, and, if nothing else (and I’m sure there will be plenty!) this twinkle has come along to show you just how much of a dead loss LS was/is because the contrast between his behaviour and this one’s is so painfully obvious already. Fingers and toes crossed for you – quite right not to step on the cracks!

  • When you finally do enter into a healthy relationship with a man that you’re enjoying, do we get to finally find out who you are??

    — – – – – — – – – – – – – – – – – –

    And for those who really are curious, I’ll be uploading a video onto youtube on the date of the big four- zero, 05/12/2012 (which is how we spell “May 12th” in the U.S.) of how to assemble a jellyfish scyphistoma costume, I’ll post the link onto Ms. Plankton’s website….

    • Margaux says:

      Fantastic! Can’t wait, Scott!

      • Then you guys will officially welcome me into Planktonhood, right?

        It’s not enought just be in a position in which most or all of the women that you’re presently meeting never want to return any of the phone calls or emails that you send to them, it’s not actually official until the first digit in your age begins with 4 or higher, right?

      • EmGee says:

        But jellyfish eat plankton! Isn’t that like inviting the wolf into the flock of sheep. I’m kidding. But don’t hold off on getting into a relationship before 5/12 just so you can join our exclusive club. 😆

        I am looking forward to your video too.

      • MissM says:

        Count me as another who can’t wait to see the video.

        I can’t imagine why anyone would actually be so keen to be a plankton, I’m dreaming of a day when I no longer have to be one.

        It would seem Scott, that something is going right if you are meeting women, since now all you have to do is meet the right woman, the one who is interested in returning your attentions, and you only need one. Heck maybe one will be lured by the sight of your sexy tentacles once you post your video.

  • terracotta says:

    Yeh – I totally want to know who you really are too – Jane Shilling? Rachel Cusk?? Probs the amount of children dont tie in. Are you ‘in’ the Oxford Literary Festival – Miranda Seymour or whoever wrote ‘My Father’s House’? Im too busy to check that one…..my youngest are coming back from boarding school today and Im off to the airport soon..zippedy doo.

    • Ms. Plankton is quite obviously a either professional writer or a professor of literature somewhere in the greater London area, she’s already revealed that much to us in previous posts- I can’t figure out if she’s a famous writer or if she is still relatively unknown outside of literature circles…. Then again, I am about as far from being an expert in early 21st century English writers as is humanly possible….

      None of the writers whom I am familiar with who are living in the London area match up, the ones that I am familiar with are all either married, or bisexual, or they are older than Ms. Plankton (Ms. Plankton has also revealed to us that she is now 47 and a half years young), or they are younger than Ms. Plankton or they don’t have any children….

    • Miranda Seymour was born in 1948, that rules her out…

      Rachel Cusk was born in 1967…. not Ms. Plankton either….

      Can’t find anything about Jane Shilling’s date of birth on the web…

  • Redbookish says:

    Of course we’ll stick with you.

  • Margaux says:

    Sticking like glue or shit on a shoe …lol!
    ( sorry! that just popped into my head!)

    Wishing you more ‘lucky ladybirds’, P !
    ( Not one but 2 black cats crossed my path the other night and I haven’t seen a black cat for years so hoping that’s a lucky omen too!)

    Softly, softly …:-)

  • Like glue 😉 Wishing you luck and a bit for me*.

    (*no hoper ;0/)

  • EmGee says:

    “…there is nothing at this point to report.”

    I take this as a verrrry good sign that something serious may be happening, but I hope that in the meantime you think of things to write about, or someone feels the yen to guest blog here.

  • Okay then, Ms. Plankton can I do the guest post on May 12th? It will just be a youtube vignet as to how to assemble a jellyfish medusa costume, using nothing more than a role of transparent 3M packing tape, a clear plastic umbrella, some multicolored neon tubing and some Christmas tree decoration lights….

    A guy only gets to turn 40 once, Ms. Plankton…

    Women will still talk to me and they are actually still not at all hesitant to give me their (real) phone numbers and their email addresses, but almost none of them ever seem to return any of the vmm’s or the emails that I send to them, so I’m getting there…. ……

  • anniebub says:

    xx 🙂

  • Lizzie says:

    Very sensible P, no one wants to tempt fate and overtalk it all into an early grave. We’ll all be sticking. Good luck x

  • rosie says:

    Just when you think you’re on the right track, life intervenes and wags its bloody finger at you. Been there, got the t-shirt. Hang in there, P, no idea what’s going on obviously but it doesn’t sound like all is lost.

    I don’t know how old your children are but if they’re old enough to look after themselves could you disappear for a few days (or get a sitter?), maybe to a friend’s or the seaside with a load of books or just anywhere where familiarity doesn’t remind you of, well, familiarity? It’s a bit of a mantra with me (if in doubt, run away!) but it sometimes helps to ease the ‘heaviness and nausea’.

    • The Plankton says:

      You know what? I have been thinking this precisely. The children are going to stay with their father for two weeks over Easter, and I have totally free rein. But no idea where to go or what to do. I shall have to look back at the comments full of good suggestions arising from a post I wrote ages ago (can’t remember when) on this subject. But knowing me, I will just stay at home and work myself into a slump. And then there will be no one to blame but myself. Pxx

      • Joules says:

        Dear P
        If you don’t want to fly away I would suggest the South Downs in Sussex. Just drive down and go for a walk. It is one of the most beautiful places in southern England. I am lucky that it is one of our study areas so I get to visit at least twice a year. And should not break the bank.
        Although instead of doing that today I am working in the garden!

        What a gorgeous day it is.

      • The Plankton says:

        What a gorgeous day indeed. And thank you for the suggestion. Px

  • rosie says:

    Oh yes, The Slump. Apart from books and a change of scenery (Brighton?) the only other thing I can think of is copious amounts of drugs and booze but that’s obviously not to be advised!

  • Cindy says:

    I agree with you about not tempting fate. It has been my unlucky experience that when you think that life is working out ok, and you verbalise it, that’s when fate shits on you.
    Keep it contained and keep thanking your lucky stars…….silently!

    Best of luck.

  • Catherine says:

    Sounds like a lovely warm feeling. An old wise friend told me once that these pre-love moments are to be savoured. A young silly thing, head-over-heels, I didn’t listen hard. But now I understand. Do keep this for yourself xx

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Not Tempting Fate at The Plankton.

meta

