Whinge Bag

March 28, 2012 § 31 Comments

Frantic day; feeble post.  Some children are at home and the secret writing of posts becomes harder and harder to pull off in the face of their demands and curiosity.  So it is the next few days’ posts are likely to be less than satisfactory.

Today, the sun is shining and I don’t feel particularly sunny or shiny myself, so perhaps you’ll forgive me if I pass today, instead of whinging on, which is invariably tedious in the extreme.

I don’t wish to become too much of a Whinge Bag or you’ll be leaving me in droves.  Better, occasionally, to put up and shut up.

§ 31 Responses to Whinge Bag

  • Lydia says:

    Never feeble. You are appreciated,

    It interests me. Unless you’re living in a one room flat I wonder how children could know hat you type in a diary, in an email to a boyfriend, on line? Mine would not infringe my privacy. We have Chinese walls. May be you share a computer which would explain it and perhaps don’t have separate passwords. Mind you my sister’s children never give her much peace. I think children just differ a lot and it depends on their age.

    I have been working and lying outside a bit (although I never go brown, whitest person on the planet after Dita van Teese). Nearly got stood up by the man tonight, but he seems to have put it back on. It was a health issue. This is not the one in a wheelchair who wanted to speak again tonight. I didn’t say why I wasn’t free although he probably guessed as I hadn’t said where I’d be. Nice peaceful day after far too busy one yesterday.

    I think people like the whinge. I wouldn’t worry about that. If you had my happy as a sandboy posts they would desert in droves.

  • Blue says:

    Hello P. Feeble post or not, don’t stop writing them! I’m fairly new to your blog and I enjoy reading it and knowing that there are some like-minded folk out there. I’m happily married so probably strictly speaking not a plankton but this is my second marriage so I’ve had more than my share of plankton moments over the years xx

    • The Plankton says:

      Thank you, and welcome. I am so glad you are enjoying it. I have good days and bad days, I am afraid, but lots of loyal followers who faithfully seem to stick with me through both! Px

  • Barry says:

    To Whinge is human , to admit it…superhuman ….. NTA xx

  • Found in translation- I had to look up “whinge”- Another one of those British words that has not found its way into common usage in the American version of the “English” language, not yet at least…

    Learn something new every day….

  • rosie says:

    Go out and enjoy the sunshine, P, we get so little of it and we’re going to be plunged back into March proper at the weekend anyway. I was supposed to be going to the cinema but it would be a crime to sit in some darkened auditorium when it’s like this outside. The pub garden is a far more enticing idea.

    And fingers are crossed for that which cannot be named!

  • joseyjo says:

    You have a huge network of sympathetic supporters here P and everybody is entitled to have a moan sometimes. We all look forward to your posts, and feel for you when things aren’t going so well. Thinking of you, and hoping that the beautiful Spring sunshine will brighten your day a little. xx

  • I don’t write into your blogsite every day, I don’t always have anything intelligent to contribute, but I do like to read through your entries 5 or 6 days per week.

    Every morning, I look through the stories on The Times online website, then I look up BBC News website, then RTE news and then I read through the CBC news website (Canadian Braodcast Corporation news). While a small handful of those stories are usually good news, most of them are usually astoundingly depressing.

    And then, I look up Ms. Plankton. Yes, I pretty much know what to expect from her now- she’s met a man, she’s not sure if he’s going to be interested in her, she’s nervous about what may or may not ever happen with him now, etc…. I still enjoy reading her posts though, a very clever, witty, funny, eloquently worded and amusing perspective on her present situation….

  • ex-pond-slime says:

    Perhaps I could take this opportunity to go back to one of your earlier posts. The post inspired a mini-war of comments, but mostly not on topic.

    The question I would like to pose is:

    Is it OK to watch “The Undatables” ? I too saw the trailer for it during “Homeland” (memo to all – if you haven’t started watching that, catch up quick, it is brilliant). When the poor man with a face like a melted candle combed his hair in front of the mirror and said “have to make a good first impression” i had to dash away a tear.

    I like to watch that sort of thing:
    (a) When I see the hands that some people get dealt in life, it puts all my petty problems in perspective
    (b) When I see people making the best of it I feel inspired.

    However, I do also feel a shame at gawping.

    What do others think?

    • EmGee says:

      I am a cynic when it comes to the media, and I find it abhorrent that they will play on people’s sympathy by broadcasting things like that.

      My late husband had a handsome face, but he had horrible burn scars on his left chest and arm, and skin graft scars on his legs from being burned by lit gasoline when he was 12. It was wasn’t repulsive, but took getting used to, but I did and it wasn’t until I wrote this reply that I even remembered he had those scars. I think everyone has a fear of disfigurement and the media plays on those fears as well as others. However, we don’t have to watch.

    • MissM says:

      I found the trailer on Youtube, and it is not enough to really say yet how well the producers handle it. I do hope they will take the subject seriously and not turn it into a sort of ‘come look at the freaks’ type of show. My heart goes out to these people, finding a partner is hard enough without having to add further impediments. I don’t think there is anything wrong with watching this since I can’t imagine anyone from here would point and laugh at the screen when they do.

      I do think the people appearing on the show are very brave, since there is most definitely an element of the population that is cruel beyond belief.

  • EmGee says:

    Oh No, Ms P! I come for the whinge-ing, stay for the banter, and leave satisfied! In fact I was waiting for a slow Plankton news day to share the following article from Canada about whether it is wrong for men to gaze at women.
    http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/relationships/why-men-cant-and-shouldnt-stop-staring-at-women/article2379872/page1/

    Personally, I don’t see the harm, I do it myself at good looking men (and women too, but there’s a bit of comparison and jealousy included there), and I don’t know if it’s my artistic appreciation of beauty, voyeurism, or what. My main complaint is that while women’s clothes tend to be clingy/skimpy, young men dress like bums for the most part, with their crotch lines dow at their knees. I saw some stills of young people from the early 90s, and the fella’s shorts were just a short and ‘pantslike’ as the girls’. What I realllly miss are the cut off jeans from the early 70s. 😛

    Of course there are times when girl(or boy) watching is rude, like being on a date. Common sense ought to tell people that you don’t gawk at other people, text, yammer on your cell phone, or otherwise ignore the person you are with during a date.

    • RS says:

      EmGee I saw that and had a different take to yours… I was creeped out (having dealt with Ian Brown before… he can be skeevy). Icky old guys excusing their ogling! 😉 But I’m letting my personal view of the author colour my response to the piece.

      It mostly comes down to glancing vs. ogling, for me anyway. Too many men don’t get the difference and think ogling/leering = admiring and that it’s flattering.

      Here’s the link to the Jezebel response, which I tend to agree with. But the comments, as always, are very interesting. Lots of points of view. Anyone clicking through should make sure that “all” discussions are enabled, not just the “featured” one. Pretty lively discussions (without resorting to name calling by and large, it should be noted!).

      http://jezebel.com/5896523/the-top-29-reasons-why-its-okay-to-creepily-stare-at-womens-butts?tag=sex

    • MissM says:

      If the guy staring at you is attractive, the staring is okay, if he is unattractive he is a creep that should look elsewhere. Same is when the guy you fancy pursues you, he is being romantic, if you don’t fancy him he is a stalker. It is quite simple.

    • EmGee says:

      @ RS’s post and the Jezebel responses:

      Why is it in instances like this, do people conveniently forget that women do it too, and for pretty much the same reason? It’s just simple admiration of the perfect human form, a very natural reaction.

      And what MissM said (and also a commenter on the other site).

  • Erin says:

    This day calls for copious amounts of chocolate with no guilt attached. Sure to cure what ails ya : )

  • MissM says:

    Relax and feel confident dear P that we will remain loyal followers regardless of how light your next few postings will be. It doesn’t matter if you feel like whinging, ranting, spinning or sharing being on cloud nine, your writing is always a pleasure to read. (I will confess my favourite posts are the ones where you have a really good rant.) Anyone who doesn’t whinge ever is not quite normal in my view, as well as being a complete pain to have around.

    We can hope tomorrow will bring with it a better mood. As for today, go with the flow, be kind to yourself and, if necessary, do as Erin says and consume some chocolate guilt free.

  • Catherine says:

    I think we all need to whinge every so often. And too many children in the house interrupting thought is a fair enough reason. Sometimes there is glumness even with streaming sunlight outside. Don’t worry!xx

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Whinge Bag at The Plankton.

meta

