Quote for the Day

June 13, 2012 § 81 Comments

I was taught Latin at prep school by the brother of Robert Graves (1895-1985), the significance and/or thrill of which rather passed me by aged eight.  But an enlightened (married) friend to whom I often moan recently sent me a card with this small, passing quote by the poet and the aptness of it struck me, forty years later, as plankton-perfect:

“The supply of good women far exceeds that of men who deserve them.”

Hey ho.

§ 81 Responses to Quote for the Day

  • barry says:

    I blame the European Cup Football Competition ?

  • AnonW says:

    I use this quote on a lot of my e-mails.

    “Any man who can drive safely while kissing a pretty girl is simply not giving the kiss the attention it deserves.”

    It is attributed to Albert Einstein.

    I’ll pass your quote on to the staff at Angel Tube Station. They have a board, where they put a thought for the day. They also put them on a web site at http://www.thoughtsofangel.com.

  • AnonW says:

    I also have a friend, whose mother did an English degree at Oxford University during the Second World War. Her tutors were J R R Tolkein and C S Lewis.

  • plumgrape says:

    I would like to tell you about a “good woman” (plankton I queried, this, to which Eva was indignant and angry even she said!)) I met about 12 days ago. Evamarie is half Sweedish half Finn, tall, lithe, attractive, rather lovely, a smoker, partial to tipple, currently sorting out a divorce, “emotionally supported/supporting” a drummer. After having bypassed her as she seemed to be married I found out that she has an “understanding” with her “friend”. Just what this meant intrigued me, and with the idea of some company in mind, a trip to the beach and a swim in the sea on Sunday I tried to get to know Eva better. Well besides the 20 GBP lounge drink bill I got about 40 minutes of conversation before busy, Eva had to leave to buy “supplements”. No problem, but negotiating and then not showing at the next appointment Eva explained that she really needed cash. As Eva liked me I did not have to go out, even at all. Eva said she could come to see me at home, only there was a little matter of HK$2000/hr (GBP170/hr) or $3000 (GBP250) for 2-3 hours that had to be taken into consideration! How does this even out the odds?

    • James B says:

      I think, plumgrape, that there is a big difference between a “Good Woman” and a transactionally motivated female hard-nut. I guess that even some good women can have an economic imperative as part of their relationship seeking strategy but most 36+ females just want a man who can look after himself financially speaking. There are always the financially ruthless, the financially desperate and the unhinged out there, but really, there are loads of great women out there who are not like this interesting specimen you talk about.

      It depends on the signals you give out and where you look. If you are just focusing on looks (it sounds like the Scandinavian is very attractive) you risk meeting a gold-digger. Particularly in a typical ex-pat community.

      I am a believer that if you want a real relationship with a real person rather than quick sex with a stunning looking trophy, then you will see that there are plenty of fantastic ladies about. But you have to offer a large degree of emotional integrity as well – or else you will get burned by someone like this “Evamarie”.

      Look at all the men appearing now on the discussion forum now Ms P!

      Nice to see the regular posts appearing.

      • The Plankton says:

        Absolutely re men commenting, James B! It’s good. Though I am not sure how regular the posts are going to be. Off and on, I fear. Thanks. Pxx

    • T Lover says:

      Yes, well I don’t completely get the connection between the Graves quote and prostitution but your hypothesis can be extended.

      Take my situation. I was the sole bread winner. She screws a bloke(s) in my house whilst I am at work. I pay she screws. I boot her. I pay again.

      If there is an oversupply of good women out there I’ll grow another nose.

      • The Plankton says:

        There are a few who give the rest of us a bad name. Pxx

      • plumgrape says:

        T Lover, I’m sorry, I have lost the Graves quote here or I would gladly further explain. I am very interested where your communication here has ended up. To me this does not look like the Plankton page. This looks like a private or personal discourse, I’d like to say more on this channel. Please write again. Perhaps I can look for the quote.
        I agree there is certainly no oversupply/ I think the suggestion is rubbish.

      • plumgrape says:

        Actually TLover I think action in principal is behind the veil. They’re scaredy cats, do it for a camera in privacy is cool, but for real what you see is “love, honor and “obey”” but just for the birds! When will they really “submit”? Perhaps on the savannah in front of a lion and I suggest, they must be treated like the forlorn cats that they are. Better to be lonely and free, no?

    • Elle says:

      When I read “half Swedish, half Finn, tall, lithe, attractive, rather lovely…” I thought, if a woman like this is single things must be worse than I thought. Then I read about the little matter of payment. The penny dropped.

      Plumgrape, were the supplements she bought blue in colour and diamond shaped?

      • plumgrape says:

        I don’t know Elle, I never got to see them. I did wonder if the drummer wasn’t a pusher and this was a habit I was meant to support? I said, “you mean like multi-vitamins?” and she said “something like that.” Anyway Evamarie called to say she was disappointed, because she thought I would have called! It takes over an hour just to get to the beach by bus! What should I have said:”Bring your bikini and I’ll order us a limo?”

      • Elle says:

        Certain “supplement” habits cost a lot so perhaps you’re right about Evamarie.

      • plumgrape says:

        Evamarie did suggest a drug store was involved. What would you call a “supplement” package? I did think of nicotine patches, because she might have wanted to quit smoking, especially if she thought there was any future with a non-smoker, non-drinker!
        But then, would you cut straight away to the quick with a price? It’s not cheap, believe me. It maybe just because she is white, arguably in greater demand as a minority in this market.
        Is a lonely single, punter always a foregone conclusion, even for a high price?

      • plumgrape says:

        Elle, this is a great comment. You’d think from your previous post at this location that Evamarie was young. I don’t think so at all, but then maybe it depends upon what you would call young? This is such an insanely preposterous topic with women it seems in general, but just to give you an idea, I’d say Eva Marie was close to 50 and suggesting money. She has made a couple of very good and interesting comments though I must say. Please write again here.

      • plumgrape says:

        My bet would be homeopathic for a “headache” because after her expressed fear of “crashing” her husband told her basically to take a powder and now matters are being best resolved to my understanding in the divorce courts!

  • barry says:

    I just read Plumgrapes’ post, and it seems he has hooked up a “Call Girl” . I have never made an arrangement to pay for sex so cannot comment. But the pitfalls , to me are clear and very dangerous. I do agree there is an oversupply of Good Women in our society, and throughout our species evolution this has been a necessary factor to ensure the survival of the species. Nothing has changed, it’s just we have realised it exists. When the average life span was 30 years it wasn’t such an issue .

  • Fletch 73 says:

    My first foray into this blogging and replying business, but I do love that quote, it is very true and I suppose it also makes it sad for those of us good women who have so much to offer. I know so many gorgeous, vibrant funny and kind women who are single and disillusioned and they are not yet 30…. what hope then for us who are approaching 40, 50 and so on?

    • AnonW says:

      It is not just good women who have that problem. I can’t be that much of a bad man, as my late wife put up with me for forty adventure-packed years, but trying to find a lady for outings, such as the theatre, cinema, drinks and meals, shouldn’t be that much of a problem at my age of 65. But it is! Could it be that we’re all getting far too cynical?

      • J says:

        AnonW, There are many ladies who would love to meet a man such as yourself, I’m sure of that. I think that in your case, it’s just a matter of time. Have you considered advertising in one of the broadsheets? That might attract the kind of lady who would appeal to you.

    • The Plankton says:

      Absolutely, Fletch 73! The very nub of this blog! Thank you for commenting. We like new commentators. Pxx

    • plumgrape says:

      I think it’s great we can talk, Fletch 73. I think the fear of the Aids virus killed free love, so now everyone (women particularly) are insulated and hidden behind barriers (computers/firewalls/networks). It shouldn’t be difficult, 30, 40 or 50. Think about good software like the new Yahoo messenger and how overt younger women have become to tempt response through the “mesh”. Here is an interesting picture of the idea: (picture sent seperately to Plankton)

      • Elle says:

        I think most younger women want to tempt men around their own age through the “mesh”, if they’re looking for much older men then payment usually comes into the equation.

        A bad (or good, depending on your age or gender) thing about this is that the images uploaded by the young women can be viewed by all and sundry. Heart attack pills on the ready, plumgrape?

      • plumgrape says:

        Thank you for this comment Elle. I can now see it on WordPress not specifically on the Plankton page. I wonder if this means we can have an independent dialog? Please reply again to this message when received. I object to some of Plankton’s editings.

      • The Plankton says:

        And I object to you objecting to some of my editings. I don’t edit, except for my own posts. End of.

      • plumgrape says:

        Perhaps it depends upon where you are editing from, Plankton.

  • Oxonian says:

    I love that line in I Claudius (the TV series – don’t know if Graves thought of it) where during a plebeian uprising some courtier says to Livia, wife of Augustus ‘Why can’t you behave like a proper woman?’, and she says something like ‘to behave like a proper woman you need proper men around’. Although really the overall interpretation of Roman history there was just a bit misogynistic – not quite in keeping with the quotation.

  • Justsomebody says:

    Great quote! And far too true for my liking

  • Jo-Jo says:

    Aaaah P! That is so very true, sadly that is what I see and feel. Where are all the good men at our age? I fear most of them are married or in a relationship……..and the rest?…..far and few between, and its like looking for a needle in a haystack! I believe there are a few of them out there, maybe even a few male ‘Plankton’ followers are ‘good men’.

    Hey, a slightly crazy idea, how about a ‘Plankton party’ or get-together in London?!!!!

    JoJo

    • AnonW says:

      It would be a good idea, But do it at a wacky place, where no-one would think what we were up to. Something like the food hall in John Lewis. Everybody could wear a badge saying, I’m a Plankton. You can always judge someone, by what they put in their shopping basket. I once shared a till,in Waitrose with one of the richest women in England. She was buying lots of tinned artichokes.

      • Henry says:

        Funnily enough, I actually met a former girlfriend in the Food Hall in John Lewis, so it’s not such a bad idea 🙂

    • The Plankton says:

      Not crazy at all. It was suggested by another commentator ages ago but we never got round to it and I have the slight problem of wishing to remain anonymous. Pxx

      • Jill says:

        I think you may be referring to a rather cheeky suggestion that I made some time ago that this would make an excellent alternative dating site. Have had a thought about the wacky meeting in John Lewis’s food hall – if we were all wearing “I’m a Plankton” badges, you could still remain anonymous, P. It would be similar to “I am Spartacus” – if you know that scene from the Kirk Douglas film! We would all be P (except the chaps, should they be brave enough to turn up…..)

      • The Plankton says:

        Slight prob: John Lewis doesn’t have a Food Hall. Harrods, yes. Selfridges, yes. But JL just has a kitchen department and a gift dept selling fancy biscuits and chocolates, no? pxx

      • AnonW says:

        The main John Lewis in London, does have a very nice food hall, which is really a very upmarket Waitrose.

      • The Plankton says:

        I wonder how I missed that? Not paying attention! Pxx

      • AnonW says:

        It’s not been open that long. A couple of years or so!

      • The Plankton says:

        Oh, yes, but I hate to be behind the loop! Thanks for flagging it up. xx

      • Minnow says:

        Oh go on! All the Londoners should meet up! It could be fascinating putting faces to all the names. And who knows where it might lead! The original plankton doesn’t have to go if she wishes to remain anonymous. You could all post and tell those who live too far from London (or who are attached followers of the blog) how it all goes. You could be sharing very heartwarming stories! At the very least it would a bit of an adventure.

      • The Plankton says:

        I agree and who knows, I might turn up. It’d be a blast. Pxx

  • Jill says:

    You have just voiced my sentiments, Jo-Jo. It seems a crying shame not to capitalise on this potentially rewarding resource….. I’m definitely up for that idea!

    And my quotation to add to the excellent ones above –

    What is better than wisdom? Woman. And what is better than a good woman? Nothing.

    Says it all really! (My tongue is firmly in my cheek….)

    • J says:

      The John Lewis website does indeed say that it has a Food Hall.

      http://www.johnlewis.com/Shops/DSTemplate.aspx?Id=531

      I must have missed that; but I usually just pop in to look at fabrics or occasionally homewares.

      I’ve always loved department store Food Halls. They always seem to be a little bit special. In Wolverhampton, where I grew up, the “posh” department store was Beatties and it had a lovely Food Hall downstairs. My family didn’t travel abroad, but I did French and then German and Spanish at school and became fascinated by the idea of living in Europe. I was mesmerised by the foreign foods on the shelves and in the display cabinets in Beatties’ Food Hall; packets of soup from Switzerland, biscuits from Germany and the cheese cabinet …….. wonderful. A visit there was a rare treat. At the time, other shops didn’t carry European foods and Beatties’ Food Hall was an Aladdin’s cave for a schoolgirl with wanderlust.

  • EmGee says:

    Thanks for getting the ball rolling, Ms P, once again a few choice words have generated some interesting responses.

  • James B says:

    It’s an interesting conundrum. What if you KNEW that you had a 90% chance of ending your planktonite status by revealing yourself in a sympathetic setting MS P? It’s hypothetical of course, but philosophically sound.

  • Aidan says:

    I would turn up, though I am not in the market for a relationship, happily married, the people on here seem very likeable and intelligent and it would good to meet a few of them. Meeting P would be like meeting a famous star for me though if she chose to remain anonymous that would be ok, we could play guess the real P.

    I would suggest a classy bar up town and we carry a copy of the The Fianancial Times by wat of identification.

  • Jill says:

    Not sure abuit the FT, Adian – we might end up confusing a fair number of City movers and shakers. How about a copy of Saga magazine?! Or maybe a very small piece of wood – a plank-ette?!

  • AnonW says:

    This is rather off-topic, but I’m laughing like a drain.

    A well-known dating site, sent me five ladies I might like. The first was a lady vicar and the second was a confirmed vegetarian. The next two were miles away and the last one would have been cradle-snatching. Well not really! As she was older than my youngest son.

    This fits the old adage, about there being lies, damned lies and statistics from Internet dating sites.

  • Jill says:

    All the more reason for a Plankton party in John Lewis, I would suggest…..but perhaps you should be more open-minded, AnonW – I’ve known some very jolly vicars and there is no reason why a lady vicar should not be equally so.

    • AnonW says:

      One of my friends quite high on my list is a vicar married to an old friend. We get on well, but I don’t think I could have a personal relationship with one. Sometimes being married to a barrister as I was, got a bit trying with some of my late wife’s cases. But at least I believed in what my wife was doing.

  • Jill says:

    A very good and wise friend who married Date No.7 after her internet quest last year for a new husband to replace her unfaithful first one, told me not to be too prescriptive about potential matches. So now I try to imagine myself 1) in a “compromising” situation with whoever it is (!) and 2) whether or not I can visualise him on his hands and knees playing with my adorable 16 month old grandson….simples….

    • T Lover says:

      She married a date? Were they all stoned at the reception?

      • Jill says:

        Ho, ho….didn’t see that one coming, T Lover, but thank you for putting a smile on my face first thing today. I’m seeing the bride for lunch so I will tell her about your witty rejoinder.

      • T Lover says:

        Well now Jill, it’s a pleasure because you make me smile too. Perhaps not for the reason you might think but you do.

        First – I think you enjoy words – I had to struggle to imagine what you meant by your use of the phrase “compromising situation” which is probably not entirely what you intended to convey.

        Then I began to wonder what that situation might be. What was the practical test the prospective new male in your life had to pass before being given the thumbs up? Something mucky I hope.

        Then this business about a meet up in Waitrose. There are obviously some blokes who comment who know all about Waitrose and its food halls. Are they (these fellas) real? Who the hell is interested?

        But the thing that tickles me most is this business of your sixteen month old grandson. Speaking entirely for oneself I just cannot imagine how any self respecting bloke would demean himself by submitting to a hands and knees play session with a prospect’s grandchild as a test of worth.

        My new daughter in law has just announced she is pregnant. Another story but the point is the amount of strained effort to drum up a grain of enthusiasm. Son, start wearing your pyjamas the other way round. Hope it’s a boy. Be in touch when it can speak and likes the idea of going fishing. Her reaction?

      • AnonW says:

        I am an expert on Waitrose. My late wife and I always did the shopping together on a Saturday morning for nearly forty years. The last twenty were in the local Waitrose.

        I’m also a coeliac, so I often have to go to two or three shops to get what I need. Usually, I plan my day and visit a convenient shop near where I’m going. I also shop like a burglar, in that I’m in and out very quickly, taking just what I need, through the DIY till.

      • T Lover says:

        I would rather chew my own scrotum than go shopping with a woman.

        AnonW – sorry I don’t want you to think I am being insensitive – making fun of your memories – because I’m not.

        I just think it sad to see blokes whose relationships end finding themselves completely lost because their whole life was tied up with a woman. No separate interests, none of their “own” friends, you know what I mean.

      • AnonW says:

        She’s been dead for nearly five years now and I can take it. But I like shopping both for general food and household bits and bobs, but for clothes too. In some things that’s one of the things I miss most about my wife, is seeing clothes that I know would have suited her in the shops or in adverts. But I’ll get over it, especially as in a few years time, my granddaughter will be old enough to take shopping. My relationship with my wife was very broad, as we tended to do different parts of it. Over the forty years, sometimes I earned the money and at other times she did. I designed the structure of our houses and she did the interiors. She generally cooked, although now, because of necessity, I’m a good cook. All of this mix and match, meant that the marriage survived. Being a widow after that is extremely difficult. But I’ll win, as I’m a London mongrel. my father’s half is mainly Jewish, with my mother’s half being totally Huguenote. It’s an explosive mix, with large amounts of survival genes. We’ve always had our own interests, hers being dogs and horses and mine being football and blogging about things like sculpture, engineering and the world.

        Life could of course be better, but women, who could put up with me are in short supply.

    • J says:

      When men meet small children, it has often struck me that how they react gives you an insight into their characters. I don’t have children myself, but I like it when I meet other people’s children, especially the little ones. I will always get down on the floor and play with them for a while and chat to the bigger ones, but I have met men who shudder if they are introduced to a child, won’t interact and just want to get away from it as soon as possible.

      The same applies to pets. If a man is introduced to a pet, it’s good to see him giving it a pat. I remember once dating a guy for a few weeks who said to me “I can’t stand dogs, they are always begging for affection” and that flagged up to me that he didn’t like the expression of a need for affection, which I didn’t think was a good sign. (Another bad sign was that he told me that he intended to eventually settle down with a model and had signed up for a photography class at a Fashion College in order to meet models ……).

      Jill, the kind of man who might appeal to you may well be someone who has little grandchildren of his own and loves playing with them

      • Jill says:

        Thank you, J, I throughly concur with what you say, and you obviously read what I said somewhat more carefully than T Lover did! (Am I surprised that you are female and he is male? Not much….) I most emphatically was not talking about “testing” anyone, merely my being able to imagine certain scenarios in the context of a relationship. And “compromising situation” was intended to be a delicate (ladylike?) way of referring to a full-on encounter of the romantic type.. Surely.I don’t need to be any more graphic, do I? As for the grandchild situation, I was very sadly married to a man who was jealous of his own chiildren and the amount of love and care I gave them, even though I loved and cared for him just as much. (>Disfunctional childhood and remote/absentee mother ….) So, because I love and enjoy being with my family, I would like to find someone who would wish to be a part of that importantcomponent of my life, and not resent it. And, no T Lover, he would not be expected to wander the aisles of supermarkets hand in hand with me, but perhaps you should try it sometime, it can be fun, I promise you!

      • T Lover says:

        Oh Jill, is this an invitation? You want us to wander the aisles of a supermarket hand in hand?

        ‘Fraid I’m busy this weekend.

        Leaving the leg pulling on one side. Your remark about not being surprised that J is female and I am male: that is the nub. Babies are a woman thing.

        Unlike Rex Harrison I don’t wish that women were more like men, I think they are a delight as they are. I just wish women would let blokes be blokes and enjoy the difference.

      • Jill says:

        Because you are a mere man (!) T Lover, I will attempt once more to explain what I was trying to get at….perhaps this will help: I met a lovely man last Monday (an internet date – they DO happen!) BUT, besides being delightful, sophisticated, charming, good-looking, urbane, intelligent, interesting, and much more, he was single (never married at the age of 62) and no real ties of a family nature. I saw a glimpse of an enviably indulgent life with no responsibilities but also with an absence of the joy of family and the unconditional love which I receive from and give to my grandson, and, tempting though the prospect of such a life might be, I know which I really want/need. It would not be fair to expect such a man to embark at his age on a way of life which would probably be awkward if not totally alien to him, when even some married men with children cannot hack that! (e.g. my soon to be ex-husband…..foolish man.)

        And I certainly would not want men to be more like women – I like them just as they are (mostly!) BUT a real man can demonstrate affection and indulgence towards small people, especially those to whom he is directly related, without any threat to his masculinity, can he not? T Lover, I feel that you are an unreconstructed male, and I would recommend you find a good woman to reform you at the earliest opportunity – and, no, that is NOT an invitation – I am just as busy as you obviously are…..

      • T Lover says:

        Jill,

        Don’t agree your analysis re the 62 year old. Go with the flow for a while and see how things pan out. There is a difference between the pleasure of your own family and from someone else’s.

        Another T Lover homily. The best friend I used to have started an affair with a woman. He ended up taking on (I find the whole thing distasteful so please allow me a touch of license) her three/four year old girl and a boy of less than six months.

        He had never had children of his own. He worships these two as though they were his. So you just don’t know.

        Me? I have a boy and a girl. Very reluctant to take on any more. The woman would have to be special.

        By extension, if you were to ask me how I see the rest of my life panning out the answer would not be: spending my weekends with someone else’s grandchildren.

        I have no problem with children (if they behave) except I can’t eat a whole one!

        No idea what an unreconstructed male might be. I will take it as a compliment.

        My daughter in law’s reply to my shove off until it can talk response to the pregnancy news was: I hope grumpiness doesn’t skip a generation.

        Have a good weekend.

  • Jill says:

    Response to James – That is indeed a bit of a deterrent, but we will keep you informed if the Big Plankton Event ever comes to pass, have no fear.

  • plumgrape says:

    Elle, I love what I see. Women are trying to get through “the mesh”, I concede, but the problem is mixed messages, hot turns cold, good turns bad, interesting deluded etc., in the twinkling of an eye! I think Plankton is true about the spinning. This perhaps makes both sexes the same, people!

  • Margaux says:

    A food hall for a meet up? I think a bar might be a better bet – no? or am I missing something here?

    • AnonW says:

      I think i suggested it with my tongue firmly in my cheek, but certainly seeing what everybody is buying gives an insight into what they are like.

      on the other hand nobody has been totally against it. So at least we have one other thing in common. We all like to eat something!

    • The Plankton says:

      I think I agree. Maybe not the Food Hall. I can’t remember how that came up. Pxx

  • Joules says:

    It is true – I often find myself trying to figure out someone’s life from what is in their trolley. And it is interesting if you are, like me, a creature of habit who likes to shop on the same day each week. Then you see the same people over and over and start to build up a picture of their life. Also gives you an idea sometimes if you are stuck for suggestions for supper.

    P – love the quote –
    One of my young cousins has the following quote on her Facebook page which I like and makes me have hope for the attitude of the next generation of women. Not sure the woman who it is attributed to felt that way all her life.

    “I’m selfish, impatient, and insecure. I make mistakes. I am out of control and at times, hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you don’t deserve me at my best.” – Marilyn Monroe

    Just finished a big job and off to open that bottle of wine I have been chilling for this occasion all week.

    • AnonW says:

      I also look at baskets, as I’m a coeliac and we all stick together a bit and moan about the latest free from products, which are always worse than the ones they replaced. I’ve probably picked up three or four new members for the group I moderate on Yahoo in the supermarket.

    • The Plankton says:

      Enjoyed the quote, for which thanks. I hope you enjoy the well-deserved drink. pxx

  • plumgrape says:

    This page is feeding through from other places on WordPress, not specifically this page. I apologise if I offend your sensibilities, Plankton over editing, but the fact of the matter is that privacy is often compromised on the net and if we can’t see what’s posted explicitly to this page, then why should we address the blog at all, unless the purpose is a dialog? Plankton (plural) isn’t dictatorial is she? It might explain a lot.
    I met one yesterday in the bank, would you believe, and finding out that I was not working again burst into a extended diatribe about what I should be doing! I was only there to check the stock prices and I actually got a totally unwarranted and fully extended discourse on how to employ myself! I was very pleasant I might add even if perhaps hasty to dismiss.

  • plumgrape says:

    BTW: Does the supply of “good women” include the ones that charge? Otherwise, please bring them on.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quote for the Day at The Plankton.

meta

